Plantation Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I thought this was a pretty yummy dish. I changed it up a little, using what I had on hand - and my family loved it. I used spaghetti noodles, only 1 lb. of ground beef. I used way more than a pinch of garlic and onion powder. You have to or it's too bland. I added cumin if you can believe it - and that REALLY added a nice flavor. I skipped the evaporated milk and just used a little whole milk. Added corn and butter peas - really good combo. I make a stroganoff that is very similar - except I use 8oz sour cream instead of cream cheese and add a packet of French Onion soup mix for a fantastic flavor. I think I will make those substitutions next time. But this is a nice base recipe to start from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Added a can of green chilles to add more flavor, otherwise pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lavaca, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Delish! I didn't have any cream cheese, and after reading reviews wouldn't have used it anyway. I used sour cream instead, which gave the sauce FLAVOR and tang! I loved it. The kids and hubby all loved it as well. I will be making this one again- SOON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HeavenleeKid

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
this was really good and filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by my3littlangls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Victorville, California, USA
Living In: Fort Lee, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Great recipe; however, my changes were: used ground chicken as we don't eat red meat, added A LOT more spices like garlic salt, onion salt some pepper. I also used some fresh garlic (you know the kind out of the jar that's already minced, I guess that's not "fresh"). Other than that I kept it the same, I was just concerned about the blandness some people experienced so I upped the spices. My family loves casseroles and this one is a keeper! I also chose to bake it instead of serving it right away, so I just poured it all into a casserole dish, topped with mozza cheese and baked for about 15 minutes. Yum! Served it with some garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Like others said, very bland. I seasoned the meat heavily, so it tasted good, but the sauce is very lacking in flavor. I dumped a bunch of garlic powder and pepper on it, but it still needs more. I don't know what combination of spices would make this good, so I'm just not going to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
My husband and I really enjoyed this easy weeknight meal. A quick throw-together kind of hamburger helperish skillet meal, it was very hearty. I saw others' comments about the recipe being bland, and I think that is because the recipe is very light on the spices. A "pinch" is not nearly enough of any of the spices. I used a generous 1/2 tsp each of the onion powder, garlic powder and salt, and 1/4 teaspoon of the pepper. I also used more evaporated milk than the recpie called for because it was really, really thick. With extra milk, the consistency was great. We loved it and I will definitely make this again for a super-quick and easy weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynardo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Cumberland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This was great, but sat really heavy so I had a lot of leftovers. The ingredients really added up to a good ole comfort food dish, even if it was pretty dense. I like that when it's this tasty. I live alone but failed to cut this recipe so by day 5 of eating this for dinner it seemed a lot less satisfying than when I first made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Ok;.. So I did have to omit the corn due to us not having any.. but, I went step by step for the rest of it.. and my husband ( who will eat anything) wouldnt eat it. So, I did this as I love to try new things, and there were some great reviews But.. Hubby wouldn't eat it, so I will not be making this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maud, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Not bad. Very filling and easy to make. Used fresh onion/garlic instead of powders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Souper Skillet Pasta

See how to make this quick and easy dinner.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Shrimp and Asparagus

Sautéed shrimp, mushrooms, and asparagus are tossed with egg noodles.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States