Plantation-Style Vanilla Lemonade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
It's my pleasure to be the first to rate this recipe. With just a hint of vanilla aftertaste, it tastes something like if Orange Julius were to make lemonade? It has just enough sweetness to bring out the vanilla flavor, but not too much to overwhelm the tartness of the lemon. Also, I'm not sure if the recipe is intended to use the entire lemon rind and not just the zest(?), as lemon pith is quite bitter. I HIGHLY recommend using Meyer lemons if you can find them. They're sweeter and much more fragrant; plus, they have minimal pith, so you can put the rinds directly into the blender without zesting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
mmmmmm yummy! Im new to making homemade lemonade so I skipped the rind part and just blended the pulp and juice in a blender with the sugar water. I like it...the vanilla adds a great touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChelcWall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
This lemonade has an excellent flavor, with just a subtle hint of vanilla, though it turned out a little too bitter for my tastes. I omitted the rinds and added finely grated lemon zest instead, but next time I'll either skip this step entirely or maybe use the zest from a single lemon only, to counteract the bitterness. With that minor enhancement, I'll bet this lemonade turns into a five-star rating in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I made this to the T..and it was okay, not the best not the worst, next time I will put more lemons... it was more like sugar water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V8ellison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicoutimi, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I love this lemonade - it's got the perfect blend of lemon sour and vanilla musk. I use one or two more lemons than the recipe calls for because I like my lemonade nice and sour, and I largely omit the rinds to avoid the bitterness of the lemon pith. I am always grabbing 10-12 lemons at the store to stock up for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
Very good. Got the thumbs up not only from me, but from the little ones, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
I have a vita-mix, so I tried the recipe as is and it was too bitter. So I made another batch, with 4 lemons pealed, sugar, and vanilla. Blended this and then added the water and replaced most of the water with ice. Yum! 5 stars with my adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
Delicious lemonade; reminds me a bit of muscle beach lemonade from Hot Dog on a Stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I love the vanilla twist. This lemonade is perfectly tart and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Husband thinks this is delicious, and I do too! I removed the peel and pith in the same manner that you peel a pineapple. This cuts out the bitterness. I added a splash of bottled lemon juice. I tripled it and added the zest of two whole lemons. I added the entire peel of half of one lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemonade

The refreshing, sweet-tart taste of summer is just a squeeze away.

Best Lemonade Ever

The key to this lemonade is keeping the lemon pulp. Yum!

Green Lemonade

This super-nutritious juice stars kale, ginger, apples, and lemon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States