Plantain Chips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
loved it when i first tasted it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
When i did it i used two ripe plantains and instead of salt i put cinnamon on it and it was really good! i also did regular banana, apple, and avocado i put cinnomon on all of them but the avocado and they were super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Love these little guys! We call them 'Chifles' in Ecuador. At the store they even sell them in various flavors, but home made is always sooo much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tracie
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Excellent. Just returned from Cuba and we enjoyed them at the beach side restaurant. I am thrilled to make them at home. I followed the recipe to the tee and they were just like in Cuba.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
Just made these tonight 8/25/10 and they are actually really good. I heard ppl say that plantains were not good at all and I wouldn't like them. So I am glad that I at least tried them. As a chip they are great and less fat/cals then reg potatoe chips. Thanks for the listed recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
These things are popular in Honduran cuisine. We call them tajadas. A great way to eat them, is by serving a seasoned ground beef mixture (diced potatoes, bell peppers, etc) over them with sprinkled white cheese and a nice salsa, and pickled red onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Yummmm! After having a friend's homemade chips I HAD to make them myself. They came out just as delicious, and it was really easy! Next time I am at the market I will be buying more plantains to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
my green plantain crisped nicer and was easier to cut uniformly, while the yellow plantain was softer, sweeter and cooked a darker brown and remained chewy. although these differences occured both are still fantastic to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYLVIETOROK-NAGY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
These are pretty good. I have no idea if I did them correctly or not. This is the first time I've made anything with plantains, and for some reason I was thinking they'd be just like potato chips. Well, if they are supposed to be I cooked them wrong, because mine were still a bit soft and chewy on the inside but crispy on the outside. I thought they were good. I'm not a big fan of frying, though, so I wonder if they could be baked. Perhaps I'll experiment with that next time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Awesome!! I prefer to use garlic salt though. AND, do NOT let them get brown. Golden and crunchy is perfect. Once they start changing color the flavor changes as well and they aren't as good. Sometimes I serve these with mayoketchup (1:1 mayonnaise to ketchup ratio or to taste) with garlic OR cilantro chimichurri (cilantro leaves, olive oil, garlic, onion, salt and pepper all blended in or processed until smooth)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Chips

See how to make healthy, homemade chips in the microwave.

Pita Chips

Homemade pita chips have a warm, crunchy snap you just can’t get from the bag.

Potato Chips

See how to make thin, crispy homemade chips in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States