Plain and Simple Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Thanks so much for sharing this recipe...although I shouldn't be eating all this delicious bread! I have been using this recipe with my Sourdough Starter for a couple of months now. I make my bread with the help of a KitchenAid so I took "breadguy's" advice along with Kris(py)'s instructions for making by hand. Together we have created an awesome, easy bread which I make every weekend for the week ahead! After a time or two one really does make the recipe fit the circumstances but so far, no fail!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
My new favorite bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Butchko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I make this exact bread every single week, and it doesn't last longer than it takes it to cool. It works PERFECT every time, and when my family comes over, they always kindly ask if I made it. It's the closest thing to San Francisco Sourdough as I've ever had (y'know besides in SF). THANK YOU for this recipe. :)I wish I could give more stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffness23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
the first time I made it I peeked in and saw the dough was very wet so I added flour to it.. was way too heavy. I made it again following the recipe exactly and it is by far the very best bread I have ever made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
My husband can't get enough. I was always afraid to try making sourdough because I thought it would be hard, but this recipe was easy to follow and turned out amazing. My husband said it reminded him of San Francisco sourdough. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
i made this today, its the first sourdough bread i ever made so i was worried it might not turn out BUT IT WAS AWESOME!!!!!! i will be making this very often now, i did add a little shortening cuz i messed up n looked at my machine cook book n i think i might have put in too much flour cuz i had to add extra water but in spite of my messing up it turned out so yummy n it was light n fluffy with a nice crunchy crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I did this recipe twice. First time it was dry and hard. Second time I added 1 Tbls oil and 3 more Tbls flour and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Made this for the first time today using a new starter (2 weeks old) and i turned out fabulous! I did substitute milk for the water because I wanted a softer crust. I made mine in the oven, I baked bread bowls for 40 minutes at 375. I did use an egg wash as I was making bread bowls for chowder - and it turned out perfect. The dough was the best dough to work with. Very forgiving and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This recipe is outstanding! It is definitely getting added to the recipe book. I had tried "San Francisco Sourdough" from this site, but didn't like the texture -- it didn't seem like a true sourdough to me. I don't have a bread machine, so I took the advice of some of the other reviewers and proofed my yeast in my stand mixer bowl with a pinch of sugar and 1/4 cup warm water. I then added all of the ingredients (adding more flour as needed) and mixed on low with my dough-hook until I had a nice non-sticky texture. I then "kneaded" it on speed 4 for a couple of minutes. I let it rise for about an hour and then made a dozen rolls. I let the rolls rise for about a half hour until I cooked them at 375 for 15 minutes. One thing I did that no one else has mentioned is spray the rolls with water throughout the baking process. Since I cooked the rolls for 15 minutes, I spritzed them every five minutes or so -- that's how you get that nice chewy crust. I can't wait to make these again as my starter keeps maturing. Huge thumbs-up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Have been making this recipe for quite a while now. Wanted to try SD because my mom made SD pancakes for my dad every morning (no, not fond of pancakes for that reason). It works great for me. I made my starter with a bit of yogurt and yeast and it is very mild in flavor. I'm told its more of a European flavor, rather than the american San Francisco style. I've been baking some kind of bread for many years, up to 6 at a time when kids were home. Learned a lot. Someone asked why add yeast, its because most sourdough only is very slow and the yeast speeds it up. Using less yeast and giving it more time will develop more flavor in your bread. The artisan no-knead bread I make takes 1/2 tsp of yeast and raises for at least 6 hours. Bread dough is also affected by weather, and has to be adjusted constantly. Machines are a great time saver, but if you want the best bread, make it by hand. Its good for the soul! If you want a crispier crust, make sure to keep an oven-proof bowl of water in your oven while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States