Plain and Simple Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
i made this today, its the first sourdough bread i ever made so i was worried it might not turn out BUT IT WAS AWESOME!!!!!! i will be making this very often now, i did add a little shortening cuz i messed up n looked at my machine cook book n i think i might have put in too much flour cuz i had to add extra water but in spite of my messing up it turned out so yummy n it was light n fluffy with a nice crunchy crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I did this recipe twice. First time it was dry and hard. Second time I added 1 Tbls oil and 3 more Tbls flour and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
Made this for the first time today using a new starter (2 weeks old) and i turned out fabulous! I did substitute milk for the water because I wanted a softer crust. I made mine in the oven, I baked bread bowls for 40 minutes at 375. I did use an egg wash as I was making bread bowls for chowder - and it turned out perfect. The dough was the best dough to work with. Very forgiving and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This recipe is outstanding! It is definitely getting added to the recipe book. I had tried "San Francisco Sourdough" from this site, but didn't like the texture -- it didn't seem like a true sourdough to me. I don't have a bread machine, so I took the advice of some of the other reviewers and proofed my yeast in my stand mixer bowl with a pinch of sugar and 1/4 cup warm water. I then added all of the ingredients (adding more flour as needed) and mixed on low with my dough-hook until I had a nice non-sticky texture. I then "kneaded" it on speed 4 for a couple of minutes. I let it rise for about an hour and then made a dozen rolls. I let the rolls rise for about a half hour until I cooked them at 375 for 15 minutes. One thing I did that no one else has mentioned is spray the rolls with water throughout the baking process. Since I cooked the rolls for 15 minutes, I spritzed them every five minutes or so -- that's how you get that nice chewy crust. I can't wait to make these again as my starter keeps maturing. Huge thumbs-up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Have been making this recipe for quite a while now. Wanted to try SD because my mom made SD pancakes for my dad every morning (no, not fond of pancakes for that reason). It works great for me. I made my starter with a bit of yogurt and yeast and it is very mild in flavor. I'm told its more of a European flavor, rather than the american San Francisco style. I've been baking some kind of bread for many years, up to 6 at a time when kids were home. Learned a lot. Someone asked why add yeast, its because most sourdough only is very slow and the yeast speeds it up. Using less yeast and giving it more time will develop more flavor in your bread. The artisan no-knead bread I make takes 1/2 tsp of yeast and raises for at least 6 hours. Bread dough is also affected by weather, and has to be adjusted constantly. Machines are a great time saver, but if you want the best bread, make it by hand. Its good for the soul! If you want a crispier crust, make sure to keep an oven-proof bowl of water in your oven while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Everyone in the family loved. First sourdough recipe I've tried since the 1980s. Good and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
Perfect! I followed the directions and my loaf rose beautifully. The flavor was better than anything in the store. I baked it at 375 for 40 minutes, on a baking stone lightly coated in cornmeal. I also lightly coated my loaf with olive oil and sea salt....it turned out crusty and chewy... Delish! This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
My question is...why do we need to add yeast when we are using a starter that is yeast? Sorry it sounds really good but I haven't tried it...need to know an answer to my question first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This was an awesome recipe. Unfortunately my starter had some sort of bacteria that didnt agree with any of our stomachs. There is nothing wrong with the recipe it delivered as it was suppose to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Fabulous bread! Use all sour dough starter, no water for a stronger flavour. I use dough setting in the breadmaker, let it rise on a cookie sheet for about an hour, then cook for 35 minutes in 360F oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States