Plain and Simple Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2002
It worked! However, every starter is different and you need a bit of breadmaking experience to judge whether your starter is too acidic/sour(then it needs either flour feeding and/or soda to neutralize) or whether it is frothy or too flat (then it needs added yeast to help out) and check to see if your dough is smooth just before rising or needs a few drops more water or a few shakes more water to make a stiff dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kris(py)
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I don't own a bread machine, so I made mine by hand. The first rise took only 25 mins! If you're making by hand, mix all ingredients (proof the yeast in 1/4 cup of the water and a teaspoon of sugar), turn onto a floured surface, and knead 8-10 mins. Put into a lightly oiled bowl, turn once to coat, cover, and place in a slightly warm oven for about 25 mins. Punch down, cut/shape, then place on baking pan and cover to let rise at room temp while you preheat the oven. Score just before placing in a 375 degree oven for about 30 mins. Mine came out plain, but I blame that on my young starter. Fantastic! EDIT: The second time I made this, I wanted good dinner rolls, so I used a cup of a half-water, half-flour mixture in place of sourdough starter, and it made FABULOUS plain white dinner rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris(py)
Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
Have made this bread twice and also used the dough setting to make rolls twice. All results have been outstanding. Many thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2001
nice, simple and quick recipe with good results - even better, no sugar, butter or oil required. Have tried with a variety of sourdough mixtures and it works perfectly everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
I haven't had sourdough in several years and this was just the taste I was hoping for. I made rolls because I am better able to control my portions. They were crusty and sour. I'll make this again often. I had to work in about another half cup of flour while making them into rolls because the dough was so sticky. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Espoo, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2000
Easy to make. I used my sweet sourdough starter and the bread truned out great. It was a light fluffy bread, not heavy at all. Will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
I did this recipe with my bread machine on 'dough' and then I cut the dough into 12 equal portions and made buns out of them. The family just loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
this IS plain and simple. I don't have a bread machine and the rule of thumb I was told for sourdough is 1.5 cups of starter per loaf when not using yeast. To me the beauty of using starter is *not* needing the yeast. Also, with starter/no yeast you get a much slower fermentation and thus a better "sourdough" flavor to the bread. That said, I understand that this recipie is intended for a bread machine which pretty much makes the added yeast necessary. To make it "non machine" oriented I just eliminated the yeast, and used 1.5c starter and 1/4 c. of water to make up the same liquid content. There is only 1 recipie I found here on AR that uses no bread machine and no added yeast like I was looking for. I tried it and didn't like it...so started playing with other ones for the bread machines. I like this one the best with the changes in the starter above. This one has a good bite to it like sourdough should. The others I tried came out too sweet like plain old white bread.*made this a few more times and tweaked it. Knead about 50 times since the bread dough machine "does it for you". Normally bread bakes in about 30 minutes. The last time I didn't hear the timer go off and it baked a lot longer. It came out NICE and crusty that way...family declared it just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
This bread turned out fantastic. The loaf was crusty on the outside and moist on the inside. Everyone loved it. My son said that it was the best bread that he had ever tasted. Thanks Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2001
Awful, flattest, worst sour dough bread I have ever experimented with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States