Plain and Simple Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Very easy and delicious. I am not sure why people are complaining about soupy or runny dough, all you have to do is a little more flour, it calls for 2 2/3 cups of flour and with the extra flour used for kneading I probably used closer to 3 cups. Fantastic recipe, I'll definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
Twas good eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I made this recipe as written. It was turned out tasteless. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I'm really not sure how to rate this recipe. I bake a lot and am known for my bread and rolls being wonderful. Mine, using this recipe however, turned out to be the absolute worst looking bread and was good for nothing but toast because it was thick and heavy. Even at that it grossed me out and I threw it away. I think the recipe is probably good depending on 'what type' of starter you are using. I bake great bread but I am pretty unfamiliar with sourdough breads. In researching, I found that starters vary greatly and my particular starter is done with no flour, just water, sugar, and potato flakes so it would not have the same consistency as someone who used the 1c. flour/1c. water starter. I wish there was a distinction in all the sourdough recipes on here because then I'd know what type of bread is made with my type of starter. Many years ago I had a recipe for starter with the potato flakes and had the recipe to go with it but somewhere along the line it was lost. It was light and wonderful...not brick-like as this recipe was with my particular starter. If anyone reads this review and has a sourdough recipe using the type of starter I described I sure would appreciate seeing it on here along with a warning on which type of starter it uses. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
very nice and simple recipe. i had to add a bit of flour in the kneading process to make it the correct texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
THE sourdough recipe. Couldn't be any better or easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Heironimus Castle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Johnstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Simple and Delicious! My whole family loved it! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Midnite Myst
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
My first time making sourdough bread. I used the Amish Friendship starter and these rolls came out super for our Thanksgiving dinner. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Midnite Myst

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This recipe worked very well with my bread machine... first one that rose to the occasion! Taste good too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
My family LOVES this recipe. It is soooo good. I follow the recipe just as given, I just bake mine different. I put it in my bread machine on the dough cycle. Then when it's done, I knead it a little bit and shape it into a round loaf on my cookie sheet, then let it rise again. I like to slit the top of it right before it goes in the oven and I bake it at 375 degrees for 15 min. then I pull it out and brush melted butter on the top and bake it for 5 more min. And the end results are fabulous!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States