Plain and Simple Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Simple and Delicious! My whole family loved it! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Midnite Myst
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
My first time making sourdough bread. I used the Amish Friendship starter and these rolls came out super for our Thanksgiving dinner. I will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Midnite Myst

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Traci-in-Cali
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This recipe worked very well with my bread machine... first one that rose to the occasion! Taste good too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Traci-in-Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
My family LOVES this recipe. It is soooo good. I follow the recipe just as given, I just bake mine different. I put it in my bread machine on the dough cycle. Then when it's done, I knead it a little bit and shape it into a round loaf on my cookie sheet, then let it rise again. I like to slit the top of it right before it goes in the oven and I bake it at 375 degrees for 15 min. then I pull it out and brush melted butter on the top and bake it for 5 more min. And the end results are fabulous!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lobsteriffic
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This turned out pretty good - although I did have to add more flour. This was my first time using my starter and the bread definitely had that "sour" taste to it. I made the dough in the breadmaker and then shaped it and baked it in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
This made a good basic sourdough, but only after I added another 2/3 c flour. It was very wet to start with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Excellent! I usually use the machine just to make the dough. With this recipe I let the machine bake the bread as well. The result was the perfect sourdough! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I'm using a potato starter which is a little runny. So, when I add the starter I will hold back some of the liquid that is also called for in this recipe. That way I can control how wet or dry the dough is. As the dough is mixing I can contine to add the liquid using a rubber scraper to make sure the flour is being incorporated. I continue to do this until the dough is clinging together but not sticking on the side of the pan. I think that may be why some people are having a problem with this recipe being batter like. All in all, this is a great recipe and I make it about once a week. Makes great toast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Wow!! I'm going to use this for a long, long time. I tried a few different recipes, but this is the best. Bread comes out moist, almost doughy. A very lightly browned crust when I use the large - light setting on my bread machine. So easy - never thought I could do a yeast bread & especially one with a starter! But it is so easy & so delicious. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This was the first successful bread-making endeavor I've had. I don't have a bread machine. I mixed the ingredients and kneaded into an elastic dough (required about 1/4 cup extra flour). I let it rise 1 hour and 30 minutes then punched down and formed into 2 baguette-style loafs, let rise another hour, then baked 20 minutes at 375. The texture was great, like something I'd buy at the local bakery. Saving this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States