Plain and Simple Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
i love sourdough! and this was the best i ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
Very nice quick way to make sourdough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedChowDawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Sevenoaks, Kent, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
I'm working my way through all the bread machine recipes on this site, in search of the best. This was the first time I ever made sourdough bread so I had to start by making the starter. I used "Sourdough Starter II " and I let is age for 48 hours. The bread turned out to be a large loaf, with nice texture and really moist. My boyfriend and I liked it so well, that I am making the same combination today...one week later. Hopefully this will be more sour than the last(I read that the flavor gets stronger as the starter ages) The only down side, was that it did go moldy in a few days, so we had to toss some. Possibly from the moistness/high yeast content? Now I know we need to eat it a little faster...no problem!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Burns Boiled Water

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This was my first sourdough bread experience and certainly not my last.This recipe is a "dinktum to my danktum" as we say here in the south.I did have to add 3/4 cup extra of warm water because it was too dry I thought but it turned out wonderful.Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bread Daddy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jesup, Georgia, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Fantastic, easy recipe! I started my sourdough starter on Sunday and used it in this recipe on Wed. I made 8 large rolls after using the bread machine dough cycle and baked them in a greased pan at 375 per another review for 15 minutes. Perfect crust and interior.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewsteadECS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
excellent! The only sour dough recipe I've found that is successful, even if I make it in the conventional oven. I make the dough in the machine and split the final dough in half. The first half I split up into about eight little balls that I make into dinner rolls, and the other half I put in a GREASED loaf pan. Rising outside the machine takes about 1 hour when it's 70 degrees and up outside, longer otherwise. While preheating my oven, I set the dough balls and loaf inside the cold oven when I'm in a pinch for time and the rise is perfect when the temp gets to 375. Bake for 15 minutes. Makes AWESOME bakery style bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kris(py)
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I don't own a bread machine, so I made mine by hand. The first rise took only 25 mins! If you're making by hand, mix all ingredients (proof the yeast in 1/4 cup of the water and a teaspoon of sugar), turn onto a floured surface, and knead 8-10 mins. Put into a lightly oiled bowl, turn once to coat, cover, and place in a slightly warm oven for about 25 mins. Punch down, cut/shape, then place on baking pan and cover to let rise at room temp while you preheat the oven. Score just before placing in a 375 degree oven for about 30 mins. Mine came out plain, but I blame that on my young starter. Fantastic! EDIT: The second time I made this, I wanted good dinner rolls, so I used a cup of a half-water, half-flour mixture in place of sourdough starter, and it made FABULOUS plain white dinner rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris(py)
Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
Easy and delicious-we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Fabulous. I have tried some sourdough recipes off this site & this one was hands down the BEST. Crusty, light exterior...chewy, tangy-sour inside. Works best when you have your starter at room temp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweet Apron

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Very easy and delicious. I am not sure why people are complaining about soupy or runny dough, all you have to do is a little more flour, it calls for 2 2/3 cups of flour and with the extra flour used for kneading I probably used closer to 3 cups. Fantastic recipe, I'll definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States