Plain and Simple Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I have made this 5 times in the last 2 weeks, It makes a very nice loaf of bread, even as written! I do find that I tend to play with recipes and do not like to read a review that is marked awful, when you read on about what they didn't add or added something else to it. To me, review the exact recipe! With that said, I do play with recipes after I make the EXACT one, it is only fair to review it that way. I do like to share a tip that works very well for me, I take a rolls size pinch of the dough and store it in the refrigerator or Freezer... depending on how long between batches I am make. It stores well in the refrigerator for a week. I add that to the next loaf of bread to boost the sour dough flavor! Try the recipe, as is, you will love it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Bastrop, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This could not have been any easier! It is important to remember when one is working with a starter that a recipe is more of a guideline then set-in-stone directions. Your starter is different from mine, which is different from the next guy's. So it is not the recipes fault if the starter you use requires you to add more flour, or conversely, more liquid. That being said, I added 3 cups of flour and set my bread machine on the dough cycle. Then I punched it down, rolled it in a ball and let it rise, covered in a greased bowl for about an hour. Then I made big, soft sourdough pretzels out of it. Oh. My. Goodness! So, so yummy. Just totally delicious! They were completely devoured, all 12 of them, by the 4 of us in a matter of minutes. Great recipe, Jennifer! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Great recipe. I used my bread machine to make the dough. I did have to add a lot more flour because it was too sticky but that is probably because of the consistancy of my starter. Like others recommended after the initial rise I formed into a ball and after it doubled in size I baked it on 375 for 30 minutes. Can't wait to make rolls with this recipe or bowls for clam chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
This is my standard recipe, thank you so much, we love this. My co workers love this as well! I too do not own a bread machine and follow same recipe using basic bread baking methods. I have tried other recipes and always come back to this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Worked great in my bread machine... My starter runs SLOW, so the added yeast was a benefit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This recipe lives up to it's name. Pretty basic but not too shabby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
These are pretty dense, they'll do for today but I probably won't make these again (I made rolls).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
Nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I've never made sourdough bread before and was a little intimidated. But this was easy and very good! Have made it twice already :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjwalsh97

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Very good and mine wasn't a strong sourdourgh flavor, but still good! I love baking homemade fresh bread. Mine set out for about 3 days, but still feeding my starter and hopefully the next baking, the bread will have a stronger flavor. So simple and only uses a handful of ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States