Plain and Simple Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Very good and mine wasn't a strong sourdourgh flavor, but still good! I love baking homemade fresh bread. Mine set out for about 3 days, but still feeding my starter and hopefully the next baking, the bread will have a stronger flavor. So simple and only uses a handful of ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I love baking!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake Beach, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I can't imagine an easier bread! So delicious, we have been making it every other day. I haven't felt the need to even look for another recipe, this is the one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I had to add lots of flour to my sour dough starter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
First time making sourdough bread, and it couldn't have been easier! I don't have a bread machine so I followed earlier advice: proof the yeast in 1/4 cup water, knead dough for 10 minutes on floured service, let rise in warm oven (I forgot about it and left it in the oven for 45 minutes), punch down, shape loaf, let rise for 20-30 minutes. Bake at 375 for 30 minutes. Amazing sourdough bread! My sourdough starter smells awesome though, so that certainly helped!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mountain House, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This was my first time making sourdough bread and it came out pretty good. My starter is made of just flour and water (one cup of each at room temp, wait 24 hours, dump out half then add 1/2 cup each flour and water, repeat every 24 hours stirring frequently until froth/foam forms). I was very happy with how well this rose and how easy the dough was to work with. I used the dough cycle on my bread machine. When it was done, I kneaded it a few times, then shaped in an oval loaf. I covered and let rise in a warm place for about 40 minutes, then baked it at 400 degrees for about 35 minutes so it was nice and crusty. The bread did dry out pretty fast the next day, but it makes wonderful toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
I like this bread this is my second time making it. The crust is hard and the inside is soft and spongey. I dont recomend dividing it into 12 rolls the outside is too hard for that plus the rolls are pretty small. It doesnt make that much dough when you take it out of the machine and divide it. Then it doubles as it rises but they are still tiny rolls nothing you could make a sandwich on. Overall I like the flavor and the texture its a good bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
My first sourdough- and this was fantastic! I did have to use more flour than the recipe called for. It turned out light, and soft, rose beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
amazing! I brought this down to 9 servings to fit in my 1 lb. bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Excellent bread. I made it by hand using Kris(py)'s instructions, with my starter that's now about a month old - turned out great! And it's so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I'm at sea level and had to add nearly 1/4 cup of flour to get the dough to the right consistency, so at high altitudes I imagine even more flour would be needed. We made the first loaf exactly to the recipe and left the dough sticky - it rose again in a bread pan and made a passable loaf. The second time I added more flour and the loaf was really good. We don't like breaking teeth on rock hard crust, so we rub the whole loaf with a stick of butter while it's still hot from the oven (even the sides and bottom) and keep the loaf in a covered container to keep it soft. My husband likes a sweeter sourdough so the loaf that's in now has a couple of tablespoons of sugar in it. along with the extra flour. To those wishing for a recipe that called for only starter and no yeast - that isn't likely for a bread machine since the rising time for starter only without granulated yeast could be 3 or 4 hours easily and the bread machine rise time is less; therefore, SOME dry yeast is always going to be called for in the bread machine recipes. Do an internet search for "sourdough forum" and you'll come up with places that sourdough experts talk about their starters, their techniques and recipes... it's a great way to get help and ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRADYSMOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lowell, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakeview, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States