Plain and Simple Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This was an awesome recipe. Unfortunately my starter had some sort of bacteria that didnt agree with any of our stomachs. There is nothing wrong with the recipe it delivered as it was suppose to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Fabulous bread! Use all sour dough starter, no water for a stronger flavour. I use dough setting in the breadmaker, let it rise on a cookie sheet for about an hour, then cook for 35 minutes in 360F oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Wow....I didn't use a bread machine and I doubled the recipe and it came out wonderful. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blessed Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Branch, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I have made this 5 times in the last 2 weeks, It makes a very nice loaf of bread, even as written! I do find that I tend to play with recipes and do not like to read a review that is marked awful, when you read on about what they didn't add or added something else to it. To me, review the exact recipe! With that said, I do play with recipes after I make the EXACT one, it is only fair to review it that way. I do like to share a tip that works very well for me, I take a rolls size pinch of the dough and store it in the refrigerator or Freezer... depending on how long between batches I am make. It stores well in the refrigerator for a week. I add that to the next loaf of bread to boost the sour dough flavor! Try the recipe, as is, you will love it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Bastrop, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This could not have been any easier! It is important to remember when one is working with a starter that a recipe is more of a guideline then set-in-stone directions. Your starter is different from mine, which is different from the next guy's. So it is not the recipes fault if the starter you use requires you to add more flour, or conversely, more liquid. That being said, I added 3 cups of flour and set my bread machine on the dough cycle. Then I punched it down, rolled it in a ball and let it rise, covered in a greased bowl for about an hour. Then I made big, soft sourdough pretzels out of it. Oh. My. Goodness! So, so yummy. Just totally delicious! They were completely devoured, all 12 of them, by the 4 of us in a matter of minutes. Great recipe, Jennifer! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
Great recipe. I used my bread machine to make the dough. I did have to add a lot more flour because it was too sticky but that is probably because of the consistancy of my starter. Like others recommended after the initial rise I formed into a ball and after it doubled in size I baked it on 375 for 30 minutes. Can't wait to make rolls with this recipe or bowls for clam chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Apache Junction, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
This is my standard recipe, thank you so much, we love this. My co workers love this as well! I too do not own a bread machine and follow same recipe using basic bread baking methods. I have tried other recipes and always come back to this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
Worked great in my bread machine... My starter runs SLOW, so the added yeast was a benefit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This recipe lives up to it's name. Pretty basic but not too shabby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
These are pretty dense, they'll do for today but I probably won't make these again (I made rolls).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 110) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States