Plain and Simple Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 4, 2007
I LOVE this bread and so does my rooommate. I typically make whole grain breads, so I've been experiencing with my starter and adding whole wheat flour to it each week. So far the bread still turns out so amazing! I think I may even like it more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tld

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
This was a really easy and good recipe. I put everything in the bread machine and let it knead it for about 10 to 15 mins. Then took it out and covered it in an oiled bowl for 40 mins. Also warmed up the oven and turn it off for quick rising. Then took it out after 40 mins. and rolled it flat and rolled it into a roll like the french baguette recipe. Covered it and put it back in the oven for another 30 mins. Baked at 400 degrees until brown. Delicious! The crust was chewy and crispy at the same time. Inside was also soft. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
We loved this and used it for sandwiches with leftover Easter ham! I added a teaspoon of sugar and a tablespoon of salted butter; only used 1 teaspoon salt. I made it by hand, let it rise as a french-type loaf, slashed it and baked at 400 for about 20-25 minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Delish! Made it just as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
WOW, this was excellent. I mixed in my bread machine with the dough setting, formed into an oblong size, put on a greased cookie sheet, let it rise until double, brushed it with egg wash and then sprinkled with dry onion flakes. I baked it at 375 for 30 minutes. It doubled in size in the oven and was amazingly good. The crust was crisp and the inside light and tender. We teamed it with a great salad and it was perfect. I am going to form this into small rolls next time or baguette size. Give it a try. It is wonderful. I substituted the white flour for all wheat flour and it was great also and healthier but still soft and fluffy on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
Excellent recipe. I used the rapid bake setting, increased the yeast by 1 tsp and had an amazing loaf ready is less than 2 hrs. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I've tried several Sourdough variations and this is my family favorite. I added 4 T. organic apple cider vinegar to sour it up more (in place of 4T of the water). Bread making is not an exact science, but I get pretty consistent results with this recipe. The only bad batches I had were when I used AP flour instead of bread flour. (resulted in "bricks"!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I thought this recipe tasted delicious. Was so easy to do. Will be using it regulary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
Good but not great. Would benefit from some margarine or butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
Great bread. I substituted in a bit of whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Hill, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States