Plain and Simple Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I've tried several Sourdough variations and this is my family favorite. I added 4 T. organic apple cider vinegar to sour it up more (in place of 4T of the water). Bread making is not an exact science, but I get pretty consistent results with this recipe. The only bad batches I had were when I used AP flour instead of bread flour. (resulted in "bricks"!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
I thought this recipe tasted delicious. Was so easy to do. Will be using it regulary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
Good but not great. Would benefit from some margarine or butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
Great bread. I substituted in a bit of whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Hill, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
HOW did anyone make this bread as written???? I just loaded my bread machine with the ingredients as listed...it looked like a batter bread! I had to add more than another cup of flour to make it come together. Still waiting to see how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alliance, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2005
I don't have a bread machine so I comprimised. I added 3 tablespoons of sugar warm water and yeast mix and set aside until foaming. Once everything else was added, I kneaded for 10 minuted, let rise until doubled, punched down, split the dough and placed into two loaf pans, let rise again until doubled, then baked at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. I used the Amish Friendship Sourdough starter, and it came out tasting more like a sour Chalah bread! A very sweet, with a hint of sourdough, bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
I haven't had sourdough in several years and this was just the taste I was hoping for. I made rolls because I am better able to control my portions. They were crusty and sour. I'll make this again often. I had to work in about another half cup of flour while making them into rolls because the dough was so sticky. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Espoo, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
Even though my starter wasn't quite right, this bread turned out wonderfull; its texture was perfect and its taste delicately sour. Gonna make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
This bread turned out fantastic. The loaf was crusty on the outside and moist on the inside. Everyone loved it. My son said that it was the best bread that he had ever tasted. Thanks Jennifer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2003
Pretty good. My starter was not a good one, but the bread still turned out yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISPYSTUFF

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States