Plain and Simple Sourdough Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TJMURPH
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
Just took loaf out of machine and a bit disappointed. First, I noticed during the kneading process the dough was too wet, so I added flour (about 1/3 c total). I set my machine for medium crust. The loaf didn't rise as much as I anticipated and it didn't brown. The taste is great but a little too dense for me. I will defintely try this again but perhaps with increasing the yeast and use the dark crust setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Perfect. I was skeptical at first...it seemed like too much liquid with the water and starter and it looked too soupy in the beginning. But it turner out absolutely perfect. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
After trying a couple of different sourdough recipes in my bread machine, using my own starter, I found this recipe to be easy and delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Great. I made it in a bread pan and no bread pan came out almost flat 2' middle. Crispy and chewy. Ohh so good. Its simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Nordeen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Thanks so much for sharing this recipe...although I shouldn't be eating all this delicious bread! I have been using this recipe with my Sourdough Starter for a couple of months now. I make my bread with the help of a KitchenAid so I took "breadguy's" advice along with Kris(py)'s instructions for making by hand. Together we have created an awesome, easy bread which I make every weekend for the week ahead! After a time or two one really does make the recipe fit the circumstances but so far, no fail!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
My new favorite bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Butchko

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I make this exact bread every single week, and it doesn't last longer than it takes it to cool. It works PERFECT every time, and when my family comes over, they always kindly ask if I made it. It's the closest thing to San Francisco Sourdough as I've ever had (y'know besides in SF). THANK YOU for this recipe. :)I wish I could give more stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffness23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
the first time I made it I peeked in and saw the dough was very wet so I added flour to it.. was way too heavy. I made it again following the recipe exactly and it is by far the very best bread I have ever made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 30, 2014
My husband can't get enough. I was always afraid to try making sourdough because I thought it would be hard, but this recipe was easy to follow and turned out amazing. My husband said it reminded him of San Francisco sourdough. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
i made this today, its the first sourdough bread i ever made so i was worried it might not turn out BUT IT WAS AWESOME!!!!!! i will be making this very often now, i did add a little shortening cuz i messed up n looked at my machine cook book n i think i might have put in too much flour cuz i had to add extra water but in spite of my messing up it turned out so yummy n it was light n fluffy with a nice crunchy crust
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Bake Your Sourdough Bread

See how to bake San Francisco-style sourdough bread.

How to Knead Your Sourdough Bread

Turn your sponge into bread dough and give it a good kneading.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States