Plain Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This soup is surprisingly delicious for so few ingredients. It thickens up considerably, so don't be tempted to add more potato. I used my immersion blender to make it really smooth. Served with bowls of grated cheese, crumbled bacon, and chopped green onion so we could fancy up our own to our taste. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
this is a great recipe. the only thing i changed was i used 12oz heavy whipping cream and 12oz 2% milk. and i add chuncks of potato. a great base to start with and add new items everytime for a change
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
I make this same soup but don't cover the potatoes and add a sliced onion, cook them 30 min or so without a cover (most of the water will evaporate) Mash the mixture up slightly with a potato masher. Then I scald 1 qt. skim milk in the microwave and add that. Add just a shake of Tabasco sauce, salt & pepper, and you have a low-fat, soul warming soup. For leftover next day, I sometimes add 1 can baby clams and heat. My husband loves this. (He adds a pat of butter to his bowl.) It's the first soup I make every fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
Great versatile recipe. I left out the butter to cut calories and added some veggie bouillon and I'm happy to say it was potato-y and delicious. Also a very good recipe to use up other leftovers--broccoli, corn, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
I made this on a cold day and it was perfect! It is very good potato soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This was great. It made me think of my Mother's oyster stew recipe. Next time I think I will add oysters with the potatoes. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
i loved this recipe very easy to follow very tasty. I added some cooked shrimp and some corn. it went very well with this simple flavor. this recipe is a excellent reminder that some times the less seasonings you add the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I was looking to see if they had this recipe as it is basically the way I have been making it for years. This is a great basic recipe and you cannot beat real boiled potatos for soup.(The flakes don't hold a candle). I add onions and bacon sauteed in butter but if you want to avoid the heart attack :-) you can skip it and just use different seasonings to spice it up. Thanks for posting!! Sometimes simple is better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREASKYE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mineral Wells, Texas, USA
Living In: Rhome, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Very nice basic recipe! Loved it. I added just a little bit of dried parsley to give it a little color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This was great...I just had milk so I subtracted the water. I also added a good handful of cheese to everyone's bowl and everyone enjoyed it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States