Plain Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
this is a great recipe. the only thing i changed was i used 12oz heavy whipping cream and 12oz 2% milk. and i add chuncks of potato. a great base to start with and add new items everytime for a change
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2004
I make this same soup but don't cover the potatoes and add a sliced onion, cook them 30 min or so without a cover (most of the water will evaporate) Mash the mixture up slightly with a potato masher. Then I scald 1 qt. skim milk in the microwave and add that. Add just a shake of Tabasco sauce, salt & pepper, and you have a low-fat, soul warming soup. For leftover next day, I sometimes add 1 can baby clams and heat. My husband loves this. (He adds a pat of butter to his bowl.) It's the first soup I make every fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I was looking to see if they had this recipe as it is basically the way I have been making it for years. This is a great basic recipe and you cannot beat real boiled potatos for soup.(The flakes don't hold a candle). I add onions and bacon sauteed in butter but if you want to avoid the heart attack :-) you can skip it and just use different seasonings to spice it up. Thanks for posting!! Sometimes simple is better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREASKYE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mineral Wells, Texas, USA
Living In: Rhome, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
This soup is so tasty. I made the following changes: I used chicken broth to cover potatoes instead of water, I added a chopped sweet onion, and I only used one can of evaporated milk. I also topped the soup with crumbled bacon. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I used chicken broth instead of water and just one can of evaporated milk. I sprinkled some cheddar cheese on top when it was served. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
I made this on a cold day and it was perfect! It is very good potato soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
This soup is surprisingly delicious for so few ingredients. It thickens up considerably, so don't be tempted to add more potato. I used my immersion blender to make it really smooth. Served with bowls of grated cheese, crumbled bacon, and chopped green onion so we could fancy up our own to our taste. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
Great versatile recipe. I left out the butter to cut calories and added some veggie bouillon and I'm happy to say it was potato-y and delicious. Also a very good recipe to use up other leftovers--broccoli, corn, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
All 5 of us gave this a thumbs up, including a very picky 7 yr old! I used fat free evap milk, and it was fine. For fun, I added a "toppings buffet" that included low sodium crumbled bacon, low fat shredded cheddar, & chopped green onions. I used my immersion blender as suggested, and it worked like a charm! My husband suggested next time keeping some chunks of potatoes in the soup, but I thought it was PERFECT!!! Thanks for a quick and easy meal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roozy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2008
This was great. It made me think of my Mother's oyster stew recipe. Next time I think I will add oysters with the potatoes. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States