Plain Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
This is the same recipe my mother made for me as a little boy when I was sick. My favorite soup. So easy to make, it just takes time. When I was a boy I thought it took hours before she said it was ready. A word of advice from an old man who misses his mothers good home style cooking. Sit down with your mother while you still can and write down her recipes that she has stored in her brain from years of cooking them. You will enjoy it and she will enjoy remembering the good times and later you will be glad you did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Just made this for my ill husband who cannot handle too many flavors at the moment. After the potatoes were soft enough I transferred the mixture to my blender and it turned out very creamy. I then moved it back to the pot and substituted plain almond milk (we don't drink dairy milk as much) for the evaporated milk and just eyeballed it when adding. Used a bit of garlic powder too. Good basic recipe and exactly what we needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This really should be called "simple" instead of "plain." I used 4 cups homemade vegetable broth instead of water, two potatoes, and only one can of evaporated milk. Will still get two meals from it. It goes together fast, with convenient "keep on hand" ingredients. Infinitely useful and easy to modify... we added some garlic powder, and served with grated cheese, chives, and cornbread on the side. Cozy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I'm giving this five stars because if you're ill; this type of soup really helps because it's so neutral. I didn't add any butter to just keep it gentle for the stomach. I'm sure instant potatoes could be used in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This is the same recipe my parents used to make potato soup. I grew up eating it this way and I think it is the best. Makes me miss my parents when I have potato soup this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Just what I was looking for! Simple and Simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This is just as the title indicates, PLAIN potato soup. There are so many other basic potato soups that have so much more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Awesome recipe! Simple and easy! I did do as some of the other reviews suggested and cook the potatoes in chicken broth instead of water. I also added a tablespoon of chopped garlic. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Meriden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
My family and I love this potato soup. Very basic. Nothing gourmet about it, but we love making it this way then doctoring to our individual likes. We add anywhere from garlic salt, bacon bits, shredded cheddar cheese, green onions, etc....Cracker barrell also has a potato soap seasoning that we like sprinkling on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
very simple but good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States