Plain Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
very simple but good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I made this for my boyfriend when he was really sick and couldn't get down much food. He was excited to have something real (not canned broth), and ate it for four days. The simple flavor was good for him, and I look forward to spicing it up sometime now that he's better. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
very good version of a traditional potato soup. My husband loved it with lots of crackers crumpled into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Danese, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Fantastic! I cooked the potatoes in water, then added the Evaporated Milk. I also added some dried onions and some vegetable broth in powder (Loose, from the Co-Op). That's it. I made it again next day and I added some Whip milk from carton and I added some D Milk. My family had two servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Romina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
This reminds me of the soup my grandmother used to make. Delicious and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
A family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bellevue, Iowa, USA
Living In: Lima, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Very good and easy to make. I added some crushed chicken boullion cubes and a splash of white wine. Next time I'll probably use chicken stock to subsitute for the water like another user suggested. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I was so happy to find this basic recipe. I added about 1/3 cup of cornstarch (whisked with a fork in water before pouring in) to thicken it up. Spiced it up with a few spices, subbed the milk with soymilk, but this was a great place to start. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vegan Fatty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I used chicken broth instead of water and just one can of evaporated milk. I sprinkled some cheddar cheese on top when it was served. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
All 5 of us gave this a thumbs up, including a very picky 7 yr old! I used fat free evap milk, and it was fine. For fun, I added a "toppings buffet" that included low sodium crumbled bacon, low fat shredded cheddar, & chopped green onions. I used my immersion blender as suggested, and it worked like a charm! My husband suggested next time keeping some chunks of potatoes in the soup, but I thought it was PERFECT!!! Thanks for a quick and easy meal :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roozy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States