Plain Eggless Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
First made the cake per recipe. It was delicious, but a little heavy. Second time, used cake flour, increased vanilla extract to 1 tablespoon, and added 2 tablespoons white vinegar. Wow! No one can tell this is an eggless cake! My grandson is allergic to eggs, but can have his cake and eat it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
366 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
My daughter has an egg allergy and I've tried several recipes including box mixes with egg substitutes. Every eggless cake I make is crumbly and doesn't hold together well. I was amazed how moist and solid this cake was after making it for the first time today. It was extremely easy to prepare. I baked it about 5 minutes too long because the outside of the cake developed a "crust" with a chewey texture. The crust is shiny. Other than that, the cake was very good. It rose very well and did not sink. I would probably add a little sugar when I make it again because I felt it needs to be a touch more sweeter. It has a hint of orange flavor and scent from the juice. I didn't use a mixer, just stired it until everything was thoroughly mixed. If you over mix an eggless batter, it will deflate. I would say this is the best eggless cake I've made to date and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
240 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I am a preschool teacher & have a child w/an egg allergy in my class. We recently decided to make cupcakes for my co-teacher's birthday, so I was in search of a simple, easy (after all, this was cooking with 3 year olds), and most importantly delicious recipe. I was a little bit worried as some reviewers claimed it was obvious that it was egg-free to regular egg eaters. But, as an egg eater & dessert lover, I can honestly say this cake was better than the boxed stuff and just as simple to make! (Changes I made were 1 tbsp. vanilla & 2 tbsp. sugar to make it a touch sweeter. Cooked in cupcake pan for around 25-30 minutes.) So yummy, esp. w/vanilla frosting! Will definitely be making again for my class & for myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIRADEARA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I really liked this recipe. I did not use orange juice, but used 1 cup of water + 1 T white vinegar. I decreased the butter to 3/4 cup, and I increased the vanilla to 1 T. It made 20 cupcakes, and my 8 yr old daughter and her friends loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
I bake for a living and last year a mom requested a eggless cake for her little girls birthday party. She wanted one small eggless cake and another regular cake to serve her guests. Well this year she is ordering only a large eggless cake!! She said the cake was wonderful and everyone who tried it enjoyed it so no need to make a regular cake! I think it is wonderful that a little girl can have her beautiful birthday cake and eat it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
My sister swears I added eggs. The cake is surprisingly moist. I added 2 tablespoons of superfine sugar and a tablespoon of Amaretto. I also reduced the butter by half, not because I wanted a healthy recipe but because the cake was greasy to touch. Even with less butter, this cake was still super moist and spongy. My family ate it quickly so I will offer it to my customers as an option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2001
This is a fabulous cake. My little guy is allergic to eggs, and it has been difficult to find a "birthday worthy" cake. A great use of condensed milk, too--so easy, tasted great, not too sweet. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
Please note, for those of you out there who CAN eat eggs---pick another recipe. This cake is definitely plain (with a capital P!) but for those who cannot eat eggs I'm sure it is the best alternative. It definitely has a cake like texture and look but it tastes like cornbread to me. You cannot taste the orange juice at all and actually the cake is not very sweet which is probably where a glaze or frosting would help. After some additional thought Cream Cheese frosting might do wonders for this cake. Regardless, if you are going to make this be prepared to be VERY creative and dress it up somehow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
Excellent! My daughter is allergic to eggs, and has never had cake that really tasted like cake! Until last night! Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe, Margaret!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
my 8-year-old son loved helping me mix up this easy cake. he could lick the spoon without worring about raw egss. easy and very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Zebra Cake

See how ingenious cooks adapted to food rationing during World War II.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States