Plain Eggless Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I'm amazed at how delicious this cake turned out. I was in the mood for cake, but had no eggs in the house. I tried this recipe and I couldn't be more pleased. It's a delicious cake that isn't too sweet. It's moist and holds up to home make butter cream frosting just fine. I'm going to make this cake again right now, adding blueberries to see how it turns out. I have a feeling this recipe would make fabulous muffins, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bindiboo
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
fantastic receipe. Wold recommend cutting butter down by 1/3 and adding a little vinegar. Made a lovely birthday cake for my nephew using this receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Made or Birthday Party - all kids and parents loved it. Several mothers asked for recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I don't think you can come any closer to a cake with eggs. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I made this cake for a 4 year old with allergies. Do NOT change anything in the recipe..it turned out great as is!! A little denser than regualar cake but still fluffy and a nice flavor. Made cupcakes and a layer cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greencastle, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I made this cake for my mother in law's birthday. She is vegetarian and does not eat egg. I was quite happy with the recipe. The cake rose about an inch or more out of the baking pan. This was great because i was worried it wouldn't rise and be too dense. It had a good taste to it and my husband's mother loved it! Which made me very happy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
My son is allergic to eggs so I thought I found the perfect recipe...not really unfortunately! I made mini cupcakes and baked them for 11 min as suggested by another review, they were ok but nothing great!! My kids mostly licked the icing off the cupcakes!! I'll keep looking for the perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
This is the greatest eggless cake ever. I've made it six times now, other than using whatever juice I have on hand, I've followed the recipe. It is a firmer cake that can be used to make shapes for creative BDay cakes. Cupcakes are great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pixie2
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
This cake come out very good!!! I couldn't beliew how well it turned out. I added some corn starch to the mixture but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. great will make again I made it in two 9 inch pans and the cakes were awesome !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pixie2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Christiansted, Saint Croix, U. S. Virgin Islands
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
having a child in the house with an egg allergy, its hard to find things that he can bake with me, but also get to eat in the end. I added a 1/2 cup of surgar and used butter flavored crisco on the pan. added a lot more flavor and made it a bit sweeter. i do suggest that you flip the cake upsidedown to decorate once cooled due to the top sinking slightly after removing from heat. but other than that this cake totally surpirsed me and was very tasty thankx to the orange juice. and on top of that he ate it up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Zebra Cake

See how ingenious cooks adapted to food rationing during World War II.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States