Plain Eggless Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
i used this recipe and added a cup of frozen raspberries and the zest of a lemon then filled it with white chocolate cream....it was for my cousins wedding and it was so good...GREAT recipe and you can add so many things to make it different each time...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
My husband said" This cake is amazing! And you made it from scratch!" This turned out to be the best cake I've ever made. It was light, fluffy, and moist. I used the batter to made an 8x8 in double layer cake. To compliment the orange juice in the batter I put a layer of thinly sliced orange, well drained pineapple chunks, and lemon zest in between the cake layers. I used evaporated milk instead of condensed milk and added 4 tablespoons of sugar for sweetness (this may not have been necessary). I also increased vanilla extract to 1 tablespoon, and added 2 tablespoons white vinegar as recommended by a fellow user. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I am so pleased with this cake! My daughter is allergic to eggs and I have tried so many recipes! I just made this for her birthday cake, tripled the recipe and baked in an 12 x 18 1/2 sheet pan at 325 for 40 minutes and it looks perfect! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I have tried many eggless cake recipes and this one by far is the best. The taste and texture of the cake is wonderful. Cakes for most eggless recipes fall apart. I used an "Elmo" mold for this recipe to make a birthday cake for my son's 2nd birthday. It came out of the mold perfectly and was easy to decorate. Now, its my gold standard recipe for eggless cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
i made this cake at home,absolutely tastes good.i think it's a better solution for people who are angry with eggs. Jeewan-SL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Made this with some of the suggestion others posted: reduced the butter by 1/3, added 2 T sugar and increased the vanilla to 1 T. The texture was firmer and denser than a regular cake, but had a good flavor. I made a layer cake and used strawberry filling to give it some extra flavor and moistness. I got lots of positive feedback from guests and would recommend this recipe if you cannot have eggs, but would go with something with eggs if you have the option!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
This cake was OK but came out tasting more like a greasy pancake. Definitely didn't have much flavor and I even increased the vanilla in it to 2 tblsp. My 7 year old liked it but it's not a cake I'd put my name or stamp on. I won't be making this one again. I'll keep looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CakeDiva1913

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
A very nice recipe for a plain eggless cake...thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
My daughter loves cake, but is allergic to eggs. We tried several recipes, but this one is by far the best. You can serve this to anyone and they cannot tell there are no eggs. I have also used this to make cupcakes (we send half to the school cafeteria to keep in their freezer and the other half we keep for her to bring to birthday parties). The cupcakes burn on the bottom when I use butter and they are little greasy, so I substitute oil for the butter and cut the amount in half. My daughter can how have her cake and eat it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I had a customer recently with cake allergies and this recipe was great! I modified it a tiny bit by adding 2 tbsp. of sugar and a tablespoon of vanilla (as suggested by other reviews). One review said to use cake flour but I noticed that softa silk cake flour may contain eggs and I thought this was worthy of mention. This cake was thick a little dry but had a great flavor overall and goes great with pineapple cream cheese frosting found on allrecipes as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Zebra Cake

See how ingenious cooks adapted to food rationing during World War II.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States