Plain Caramel Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
This didn't work out for what we wanted to use them for. I'm really glad I did a test run on the recipe two days beforehand. I wanted to make them the day before a girl's birthday party, and then wrap them up in plastic or wax paper and gift them as takeaway gifts. But this caramel was soooo soft and sticky. I set the caramelled apple on wax paper to set, put it in the fridge for an hour, and then let it sit on the counter overnight. It was still horribly soft (I couldn't possible wrap it up) and stuck horrendously to the wax paper. My daughters didn't even want to try to eat it. Besides which, unwrapping all those caramels was a big hassle. I switched to a more traditional boil-sugar-and-butter-to-soft-ball-stage candy recipe, which worked better. I set the apples on cooking-sprayed Silpat sheet, and rolled them in sprinkles (to cover any stickiness and hopefully enable them to be wrapped). I give the recipe two stars because this might be a good choice to make with young kids that want to eat the apple right away. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Great texture for dipping apples! Make sure to get the waxy coating off your apples and chill them before dipping to help the caramel stick and cool quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
To put an extra "zest" after I dipped it in caramel I waited until it was "dry" and dipped it halfway in white chocolate then dipped it in nuts right after the white chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kutypie21
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Very easy to do, first time making caramel apples and they turned out great - I posted a photo of mine where I covered them in crushed peanuts, mini M&M's, Skor bar pieces and sliced almonds - And then I drizzled them with white and milk chocolate (chips melted in a waterbath) - Sold them at work for a charity fundraiser and 6 were sold before I got them to the table :) Also used Honeycrisp apples along with the usual Granny Smith apples - Good for Halloween and any fundraiser :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Butte, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Super easy and worked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
What a great and simple recipe for a simple treat! I used Kraft Caramel Bits instead of the regular candy squares and I melted them on the stove instead of the microwave. Maybe I should have done that because the bits never melted all the way and I ended up with several "clots" of caramel. Other than that, the caramel stuck very nicely and didn't slide very much at all. Next time I'm going to melt some chocolate chips and drizzle some of that over the caramel. Yum!!! Oh and I actually used Macintosh apples because I like them better. I save Granny's for the pies! I also used parchment paper instead of waxed paper. You have to remember to eat these up in a couple of days. Otherwise, if they sit around too long the caramel begins to granulate right on the apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragonflyte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
wonderfully simple recipe. I used small granny smith apples and was able to make 12. I used wax paper to line my pan with instead of the foil. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ohatchee, Alabama, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I've made it a dozen times. They are wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
We loved these. Be sure to remove the wax from the apple so the caramel will stick better. I put graham crackers, oreo cookies, nuts, and peanuts in the food processor--separately-- and rolled the caramelized apple in it.We also crushed some candy bars for a coating.(snickers and Butterfingers) Drizzled melted chocolate around the stick and top half of the apple.. YUM! After they cooled, I put them in cellophane party bags from the dollar store. Adding curly ribbon gave them a festive look. We loved making these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I love caramel apples, and buying the name brand caramels makes such a difference! We dip our bottoms in sugar or nuts or chocolate chips to help keep them from sticking before we place them on the wax paper..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Nutty Caramel Apple Pops

Delicious mini caramel apples dipped in chopped nuts.

Sauteed Apples

See how to make this versatile recipe for Sauteed Apples.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States