Plain Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
This is a fast and easy recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out just fine. Next time I think that I will use 1/2 tsp of salt and I will roll the dough thicker then the 1/4 in recommended. Those are just my personal preferences though. Thanks for a great Saturday morning recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Very very good i did use plain yogurt instead of milk these were fantastic thank you for sharing!!! Update! Made these again with milk instead of yogurt i prefer the yogurt these were just ok for me..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
This recipe was so easy. My daughter and I had never made doughnuts before. These turned out Great. I would recommend this recipe to any first timers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Great recipe!! These were the simplest doughnuts to make and so very good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Great Recipe. These doughnuts remind of the ones my mom used to make. After reading the previous reviews, I decided to up the amounts of cinnamon and nutmeg and I cut back on the frying time. Besides that, I made exactly as the recipe dictated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Soooo good. I made doughnut holes and then served them with butter cream icing to dip in. YUMMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindylouwho

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Very good! I too had to use extra flour to make the dough manageable. I also used Allspice instead of nutmeg because I was out, and they were still very yummy. I will definitely be using this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shar_lene

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I think I made these the laziest way possible. I made a half a batch. I went ahead and used a whole egg, but scaled back the other ingredients. Then I simply spooned small amounts of the batter into the hot oil. Super easy and exactly the kind of indulgent snack I was looking for. Also, I used buttermilk. I will be making these again when the evil cravings haunt me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahBcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Dough came out so sticky that I ended up adding another 1/2 c. of flour to the mix in order to be able to roll anything out. Final product was very dense, and ended up in the trash. I did like the cinnamon/nutmeg flavor combo., but not enough to make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Very dense and heavy. I followed the recipe exactly except I made donut balls instead of the traditional donut-shaped donuts. Need some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iheartmaddiegrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 81-90 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States