Plain Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Oh. My. GOODNESS! This took 2 minutes to mix up and less time to fry! I wanted donut holes, and boy did I get them! I found the dough the perfect consistency for rolling, needing even less dusting flour than I'd thought. And knowing it would require re-rolling of the scraps anyway, I didn't roll the entire batch out but rather did about 1/3 at a time (which also allows for a good kneading each time to keep the dough together better). So this was really no fuss. I used a 1-1/4" cutter and this yielded about 30 holes when I halved the batch (I admit, I sampled the raw dough so it might make a bit more). I will use this recipe CONSTANTLY and try variations. When I figure out the red velvet version and the appropriate cream cheese ganache (I intend to make cake pops) I will share :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cas in NYC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Pretty good. I think that 1/4 inch is too thin. They were more like wafers. Next time, I will add more cinnamon and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CAT772
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
These are absolutely fantastic and super easy to make. If your oil is hot enough they come out a little crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside. I added a little more flour plus about 1/4 tsp of freshly grated nutmeg (I love nutmeg!). They are perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAT772

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rnewbs
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Really fast and easy to follow recipe. The dough was sticky, but the flour on the work surface made it manageable. Just be sure you make the donuts quite flat, otherwise you'll get raw dough in the middle. I started with the oil too hot and got burnt outside and raw insides. After lowering the oil temp(by adding room temp. oil) and flattening the dough I got perfect donuts, and even tried some different shapes with my large cookie cutters- Stars and sunflowers. Next time I'll cut holes in the middle of those as well. A fun recipe all around. Mine made about twenty, some large, some medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rnewbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
The flavor of the batter was good, but they fell apart in the fryer...not sure what happened....any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
These doughnuts are pretty good did not realize ho much people like cake doughnuts. Idid add a little more nutmeg and cinnamon. I used the creamy glaze. Next time will make them just a little bigger. This one stays in my recipe book, thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nay nay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Athens, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Soddy Daisy, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
Took another reviewer's advice and doubled the cinnamon. Otherwise, I made as directed and they came out perfectly. I measured the oil temp between each batch to be sure the oil stayed at 375. These were great as-is. We did not need any coating, just coffee and a plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSHERI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
delicious! super easy and my 2 boys loved them! After reading the reviews I added extra cinnamon and nutmeg along with some almond extract just for some additional flavor. I also needed a touch more flour to make a it a workable dough. we made donut holes instead of traditional shapd donuts and it worked perfectly. we will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
These were o.k. but not my favorite, they were definatly better when they were first made. If you eat them later heat them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hastings, Florida, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I just made these for the kids and loved them! Yes, as the reviews said...a little more cinnamon, a little flour to knead to right consistency for rolling but all in all just a great recipe. We tossed ours in cinnamon/sugar mixture and glazed some. This will be my go to donut recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States