Plain Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Sarah T! :)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Of course i'm not an expert at cooking, but my mom technically is and she made them for us for breakfast and they were absolutely AMAZING! I wish I could have them every day! They looked and tasted amazing! Thanks for adding this amazing recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
My husband says that these are absolutely GREAT!! 5 stars for ease, and YUMMINESS!! I just took these out of the fryer and they are wonderful... I made mine into donut holes. Yum yum. Thank you for the recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
I made these with my kids (ages 3 and 4) this morning. The recipe was simple enough that they were able to do some of the measuring and mixing as well as roll out the dough and cut out the donuts. We absolutely loved the flavor. We did run into some problems. I had to add extra flour because the dough came out a little sticky (but then again... a 3 and 4 year old were doing the flour part to begin with! Although I was watching, I turned my back on the second cup of flour, which may not have been full, and I only ended up adding about a 1/4 cup extra). The second problem came with the oil. I used a thermometer to heat the oil to the correct temperature and still ended up getting black, uncooked donuts. So I took the oil off the heat, rolled the donuts even thinner and tried again. They cooked perfectly. We rolled them in powder sugar and cinnamon-sugar. The kids loved them. I will make these again. I will just be more careful with the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
first time making donuts. They are really good. Even from a deep fryer. Nice and light and golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I think they were absolutely amazing!I used buttermilk instead of regular. I also added a little extra cinnamon and nutmeg. I got worried at first because the batter wouldn't get smooth when mixing, but when they cooked they worked out fine. I used the bottom of a small cup to cut them as I don't have doughnut or buscuit cutters, and I used a soda cap for the centers, which I dipped in flour before cutting. As other reviewers had mentioned, I had to add more flour to get the right dough consistancy. I ran out of all-purpose flour so I mixed it with some Gold Medal "Better For Bread" flour. The doughnuts came out lightly crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. Sooooo good!! I made the recipe for "Texas Frosting" on this site to frost them and topped with sprinkles. My son and I also made a vanilla glaze. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I am always amazed, and frequently shake my head at some peoples' reviews. One lady said she "scaled the recipe" and "instead of adding 1/3 of an egg, I added a whole egg." Then she went on to rant about how sticky the dough was!!! Of course, she also tore up the recipe when she critiqued it. But she wasn't really reviewing the original recipe, she was tearing up her own creation. Some people! This recipe, as written, is pretty good. I subtracted a star because I did add extra nutmeg & cinnamon to get a nicer flavor. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beadanurse

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Love these as is. I dunked them in cinnamon sugar. My littlest son loved helping me make these. Beat out his favorite donut maker app!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Huntley, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
These were the best doughnuts I have ever made. They were crisp on the outside, soft on the inside, and had the perfect amount of sweetness. I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
They are ok, but I wanted to recreate richer cake doughnuts. Like the blueberry cake doughnut, the only choice that I ever wish to make from a selection of these. These were pretty plain, not very sweet. I would not use this recipe again. I decided that I was looking for something that used buttermilk, sour cream or yogurt in the dough. I would also use more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Stauffer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly as written with one exception, several other raters said to flour liberally so you could work with the dough as it was sticky. I was going to try to do it without flour but i couldnt even get it out of the bowl it was sticky. I floured my surface & best I could rolled it out. Then came the task of trying to get it off the board & into the pan of oil. I had to use a spatula as it stuck to my hands. I cooked them & they fell apart in the pan, they had ZERO resemblance of a donut at ALL. The finished product looked like a fish fry not donuts. I was hoping after all the hassle work ingredients & oil I used up that they would at least taste good. I usually buy a can of buiscuts & cut holes in them to make homeade like donuts for the family but I thought I would step out of my comfort zone & do homeade but never again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 266) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Chef John's Bacon and Egg Doughnuts

Light and crispy doughnuts filled with bacon.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States