Plain Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by VeganSweetlove
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
this recipe is a great base. i make everything vegan first off, and they work out perfectly. i add pumpkin pie spice instead of nutmeg, i double the cinnamon, and i add about 2 tsp of vanilla extract for the extra sweetness. they dont last in my home, theyre perfect with hazelnut coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeganSweetlove

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SwarovskiMommy
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
Awesomely stellar! Just dust hands with flour and counter and you're set! It's not a SPICED doughnut, it's a SIMPLE CAKE doughnut down to a "T"! Voila!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SwarovskiMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
These were ok, but not as great as I had hoped reading the reviews. I was concerned the dough would be too wet after many commented on needing to add more flour, so I substituted 1/4 c. Sour cream for half of the milk. The consistency was fine, even a little dry until kneading. The biggest challenge was cooking. If I heated the oil to 375 like the recipe stated, the outside burned immediately while the inside was raw. I finally got the temperature down enough to let them cook longer for the inside, but then they seemed like they'd soaked up a lot of oil as well. Overall, not what I'd hoped for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
Simple, easy recipe that produces delicious donuts! I even liked them plain without icing, but with it they're good too. I doubled the cinnamon and added a bit more nutmeg. They fry super quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This was my first time to make doughnuts. I followed the directions as stated but also added a bit of vanilla. These were not the prettiest doughnuts but that was mostly due to my inexperience, not the recipe. The flavor and texture were spot on. They were fantastic with a cup of coffee. All told, a winner. I'm sure with practice, these will be picture perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hamilton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This was the best recipe for cake doughnuts I have ever found. I made a couple of changes because I wanted to not because it was needed. I added buttermilk in the place of the milk, left out the cinnamon and used 2 tsp. nutmeg. They were the best. Thank you so much for sharing. I will never buy doughnuts again. So easy also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orange Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
this isnt my first time making doughnuts... but i gotta say these have to be the easiest and not messy to make... i added some extra nutmeg and cinnamon... made doughnut holes from the middles of the doughnuts rolled them in powdered sugar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilly K

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Canoga Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
We made these tonight with 8 girls ages 5 to 14 along with the mothers. We had a great time together and after shaking the doughnuts up in cinnamon and sugar they were scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
LOVE THESE! I READ THE OTHER REVIEWS AND SOME SAID TO MUCH LIQUID, I DIDNT HAVE THAT PROBLEM, I DIDN'T MELT THE BUTTER ALL THE WAY AND I SLOWLY PUT IN THE MILK, THEY WERE FANTASTIC, COULDNT KEEP THEM AROUND I HAD TO MAKE 2 BATCHES!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This recipe takes less time to make than getting dressed to go to the store to buy doughnuts in the morning! They are fresh, easy and made with simple ingredients-no extra junk. Tastes like a traditional old fashioned cake doughnut-my hubby's favorite! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 252) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States