Plain Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Excellent! Crispy on the outside and actually fairly light on the inside (for a cake donut). Couldn't really taste the spice- maybe sprinkle with cinnamon sugar? Quick and easy. I did flour the surface heavily and chilled for a bit (15 min or so) while I cleaned up and got the fryer and papers ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Griswold, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Did not care for this recipe at all! Batter was very dry had to add an extra 1/2 c milk. Very bland. Wouldn't recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schiller Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Belvidere, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Delicious and addictive! Made two times so far, the first time I halved the recipe but forgot to halve the milk and dough was very sticky. I heavily floured board, hands an roller and kept adding more tablespoon at a time until the consistency was knead able. Still came out wonderful, second time followed measurements exactly and dough was perfect from the start only had to lightly flour board and roller. Again came out delicious, I used the vanilla glaze from this site to top. Absolutely addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
These were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This was my first time making donuts at home. It was a pretty good recipe- except for the fact that I had to use a lot more flour than the recipe called for. Other than that- the donuts came out tasty and were a delightful treat for my siblings and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mema450

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
It was awful. 1. It was bland tasting 2. After I fried them the outside was just perfect, golden and delicious looking, however, when I cut it in half, surprise surprise it didn't cook at all. Just dough inside. Waste of all those ingredients I expected cake doughnuts, but they were unlike doughnuts at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Just made these! Added a dash of ginger and a dash of vanilla! Could eat them all! But I really need a doughnut punch...mine look sad but taste awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
My doughnuts turned out perfect, will be doing this recipe again and again, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by magikat
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
These were delish! I used plain Greek yoghurt instead of milk and added a little more spice. Rolled them in cinnamon sugar and cannot stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
loved this recipe was so good hubbie love them nice flavor and wonderful texture. Had to double the recipe and glazed with dark fudge icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Hallgren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Audubon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Chef John's Bacon and Egg Doughnuts

Light and crispy doughnuts filled with bacon.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States