Plain Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I love cake doughnuts and this recipe is so simple! This was the first time I made doughnuts and this was so easy. I increased the cinnamon to 1/2 teaspoon and the nutmeg to 1/4 teaspoon as many had said they needed more this was just right. I rolled them in cinnamon and sugar and my family loved them! A definite must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooking is fun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Great donut! This was the 1st time I have ever made let alone fried a donut - easy to make and using suggestions made by other reviews - I increased the cinnamon to a 1/2 tsp and the nutmeg to a 1/4 tsp - I used the donut holes to make sure oil was at the correct temp for frying and I found 360 degrees was perfect. The dough was extremely sticky so I made sure my counter was well floured and then I turned the dough over and made sure my rolling pin was well floured too. Spot on donut - will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
It reminded me of the cake donuts I would get from the mom and pop shops in New England. I could tell from reading the recipe that it didn't have enough spice, I increased the spice to 1/2 tsp of cinnamon, 1/2 tsp of nutmeg and 1/4 tsp ground cloves. You need to fry them until really brown to get them to cook all the way through and to get that nice crunch. If you don't have a donut cutter, a margarita glass and a shot glass makes a great substitute for a really big donut. Makes six large donuts cutting them this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Cottrill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Great recipe. I made these as a birthday treat for my son's Grade 1 class and as one child is allergic to dairy (except eggs)I swapped almond milk for the milk and used margarine instead of butter - worked perfectly. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This receipe is 100% right. These are very similar to the sourdough doughnuts from Tim Horton's in Canada. I did not change a thing except I did put a little more butter than called for. Sprinkle with a little sugar and way to go. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
I needed a bit more flour as per the warnings in other reviews and also used pumpkin pie spice instead of cinnamon and nutmeg. I also baked mine. And they were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Admittedly this was my first attempt at donuts. I followed the recipe exactly except that I made donut holes instead of donuts. Out of the fryer it took me a few attempts to get them cooked all the way through, I think someone else said that it just depends on if the oil stays hot enough. I made them a little too thick at first and once I corrected that, it was fine. I rolled them in cinnamon and sugar when done. I would say the taste was pretty good straight out of the fryer, but they tasted not so great the next day. Not something you can wait to eat. I made these in the evening and they were dry and crumbly the next morning even after being in ziplock bags. Love how simple the recipe is though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiljaMoon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Excellent! Crispy on the outside and actually fairly light on the inside (for a cake donut). Couldn't really taste the spice- maybe sprinkle with cinnamon sugar? Quick and easy. I did flour the surface heavily and chilled for a bit (15 min or so) while I cleaned up and got the fryer and papers ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Griswold, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Did not care for this recipe at all! Batter was very dry had to add an extra 1/2 c milk. Very bland. Wouldn't recommend this to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schiller Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Belvidere, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Delicious and addictive! Made two times so far, the first time I halved the recipe but forgot to halve the milk and dough was very sticky. I heavily floured board, hands an roller and kept adding more tablespoon at a time until the consistency was knead able. Still came out wonderful, second time followed measurements exactly and dough was perfect from the start only had to lightly flour board and roller. Again came out delicious, I used the vanilla glaze from this site to top. Absolutely addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States