Plain Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
These were fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This was my first time making donuts at home. It was a pretty good recipe- except for the fact that I had to use a lot more flour than the recipe called for. Other than that- the donuts came out tasty and were a delightful treat for my siblings and I.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
It was awful. 1. It was bland tasting 2. After I fried them the outside was just perfect, golden and delicious looking, however, when I cut it in half, surprise surprise it didn't cook at all. Just dough inside. Waste of all those ingredients I expected cake doughnuts, but they were unlike doughnuts at all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Just made these! Added a dash of ginger and a dash of vanilla! Could eat them all! But I really need a doughnut punch...mine look sad but taste awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
My doughnuts turned out perfect, will be doing this recipe again and again, thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by magikat
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
These were delish! I used plain Greek yoghurt instead of milk and added a little more spice. Rolled them in cinnamon sugar and cannot stop eating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
loved this recipe was so good hubbie love them nice flavor and wonderful texture. Had to double the recipe and glazed with dark fudge icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Hallgren

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Audubon, Iowa, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Photo by TnT
Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Very fast for donuts!! I just finished up a batch of these donuts and they are VERY good. I did NOT have a problem with too much flour. I monitored the oil temp before each batch and they cooked to a golden brown perfection! I’m going to post a photo of “naked donuts”. The only modification I made was doubling the cinnamon (it is still just a light cinnamon taste, which is what I wanted) and I substituted mace for the nutmeg, which is a traditional donut spice. If you don't eat the donuts right away, the cinnamon taste will get stronger as they "age". I rolled the dough out to just over ¼ inch and I used a 3 inch cookie cutter ring and a 1½ inch cutter for the center hole. To help with the mess of rolling out the donuts (or pie crusts, etc.) I dampen the kitchen island counter (2 foot wide) with a wet paper towel, then I stick plastic wrap to the counter. I don’t know how this would work on a long flat counter surface, but you can try it, just make sure the counter is lightly damp before applying the plastic wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TnT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elgin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah T! :)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Of course i'm not an expert at cooking, but my mom technically is and she made them for us for breakfast and they were absolutely AMAZING! I wish I could have them every day! They looked and tasted amazing! Thanks for adding this amazing recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
My husband says that these are absolutely GREAT!! 5 stars for ease, and YUMMINESS!! I just took these out of the fryer and they are wonderful... I made mine into donut holes. Yum yum. Thank you for the recipe!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States