Plain Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This is a great recipe has been around for many years. It gets easier the more you make them...practice makes perfect. I think I have made these a hundred times with my mother and sisters, then with my children and now with my grandchildren. Its a recipe you can add more or less spices, change the toppings and eat hot or cooled. They are great around Halloween with apple cider. You don't need a deep fryer, just use the largest pot you have and adjust how much oil you use and how many donuts you cook at a time. Yes... lots of fat and calories but that's what makes it a treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This recipe was great! Quick, easy and delicious! I'd never made donuts before and I was so pleased with the way they turned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
A nice simple recipe my 11 year old made these today and they are delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arlene Hutton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Not worth the effort
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Nothing to change, kids loved em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Originally i made these for my two boys as a reward and they loved them as much I did. I made them into little doughnut balls because it was easier for them to eat and my husband had some left over the next day and said they are great as a quick breakfast with some syrup like a pancake. I'm definitely using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denishia Jimenez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Look absolutely amazing but is there an alternative to frying them since I don't own a deep fryer?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I read and tried many types and flavors of doughnuts as I am new to baking and doughnuts are my favorite empty carb decadent treat. I have made all types of breads,cinnamon rolls,cakes,fudge and I have taken from one recipe and added to a part of another recipe and just using common sense and some of the info that I have read about and watched videos about.I am pretty confident at this point in my abilities in making just about everything that I have worked on over the past few years,but then came doughnuts and I have made more failures by far than successes. I made this after reading many reviews and added a bit more cinnamon,nutmeg,sugar etc. I used to make the mistake of adding too much flour as many new bakers do but I did not do it this time but I did let the dough sit covered in the bowl after just combining the ingredients and then put the dough in the fridge for 20 min. or so and they came out great. I dusted a few with powdered sugar and some basic vanilla glaze for a few.Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chantel Chapman
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
These donuts came out great. They are light and fluffy and just the right sweetness. I did find the dough difficult to deal with. My first couple donuts weren't very pretty. I finally decided to put everything on hold and refrigerate the dough for ten minutes. Then I only used a quarter of the dough at a time and left the rest in the refrigerator. I heavily floured my countertop, the dough and my cutter before gently patting the dough to a thickness of half an inch. I gently removed the cutout dough and blew the excess flour off of it. The dough is extremely moist, which it needs to be for moist donuts. I suspect this recipe was originally made to go in a donut dispenser. I would recommend trying one if you have it. I paired the cooled donuts with Alton Brown's chocolate donut glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chantel Chapman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Family loved it! I didnt add nutmeg neither did I add cinnamon tho.... Simply sprinkled sugar on them after. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States