Pizzelles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Didn't have any anise extract. So I used half vanilla, half almond, and a small dash of lemon extracts. They crisped up beautifully and mighty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Used my pizzelle maker, 3-4 setting until green light was off, approx 1 minute. Store in foil to keep crisp. 1/2 recipe plus 1 T vanilla and 1/2 t almond, very easy and good.1/2 recipe made 2 dozen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
His grandmother making pizzelles at the holidays is one of the favorite memories of my Italian-born husband. So when I made these, and just the smell brought a tear to his eye, I knew they were authentic. And they do taste great. I did need to thin the batter with a little water though. Also, I used butter instead of margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPinky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I used two bottles plus another teaspoon or so of anise flavoring, but we like them with a lot of flavor. This recipe is just like my dad makes. For Christmas, he puts red and green food coloring in the batter and makes them in those different colors - really pretty. These also freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This is the exact recipe my familt uses when we make pizzelles. We like soft pizzelles and this recipe allows them to stay softer rather than crunchy. My grandmother was the only one who knew how to keep them crunchy because that is her preference. I use melted butter, and a full bottle of anise along with a tsp of anise oil. It sounds like too much, but after they are cooked you will notice how much more flavor they have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mfmenchi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This recipe turned out perfect. Just like I was looking for. For those of you whose pizzelles were not crisp, make sure you are using butter and not margarine. Some margarines have alot of water added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Excellent! This is the old recipe my family uses also. However, I add vanilla extract to mine. It is also easy to replace the anise with any flavor extract for a variety of tastes. (I use approx the same amount for any extract.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
The batter is delicious, but I can't get them to crisp up. Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong? I'm following the recipe, and cooking them to a golden brown, but they stay soft. Help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Norriton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Just by looking at it, it seems really good. I don't have a pizzelle iron though. Would a waffle maker do?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I am a first time user with a pizzelle maker, I got a Cuisinart on E Bay really cheap and thought I would start with this recipe. The recipe was so easy, I used butter instead of margargine and vanilla and a little lemon. the only problem was getting used to the parameters of the iron. But I did CHEAT, and use scissors to cut around the edges while they were still warm and this gave them nice crisp edges. I cooled on a cookie rack, the only way to get them perfectly flat and then sprinkled with confectioners sugar. My family loved them and I really liked the Pizzelle maker. It was easy to use and fun!!! will make them again! Any ideas for fillings??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silver Ghost

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Linden, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States