Pizzelles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Just by looking at it, it seems really good. I don't have a pizzelle iron though. Would a waffle maker do?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I am a first time user with a pizzelle maker, I got a Cuisinart on E Bay really cheap and thought I would start with this recipe. The recipe was so easy, I used butter instead of margargine and vanilla and a little lemon. the only problem was getting used to the parameters of the iron. But I did CHEAT, and use scissors to cut around the edges while they were still warm and this gave them nice crisp edges. I cooled on a cookie rack, the only way to get them perfectly flat and then sprinkled with confectioners sugar. My family loved them and I really liked the Pizzelle maker. It was easy to use and fun!!! will make them again! Any ideas for fillings??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silver Ghost

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Linden, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
After receiving a pizzelle maker at my bridal shower, I went on a mission looking for a good, traditional recipe. On closer inspection I realized that EVERY RECIPE ON HERE IS THE SAME!! At least for the anise and other plain-flacored versions on here, the recipe is IDENTICAL in ratio of sugar-flour-butter-egg, etc. The only difference is the size of the batch, ranging from a 12, 6, or 3 egg size, and the amount of flavoring, which varies to taste. Reviews saying this was the same as the recipe that comes with the pizzelle machine dashed my hopes of a "traditional" recipe, although the one variation I did see was a few (including an old recipe I was given) that left out the baking soda but required the dough to rest. My impatience always wins! As for the recipe itself, I found it worked quite well. They turn out crisp and delicious (I use 1T anise extract, 1Tvanilla and 1/2t almond for a 3 egg size batch, which makes about 4 doz) Don't leave your iron while they are cooking!! They brown quickly and the "cook til there's no more steam" rule never worked for me. They are also rather soft immediately after removing from the iron but crisp up fast so you'll want to lay them flat as soon as possible, preferably on a rack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GottaFeedYa!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomingdale, Ohio, USA
Living In: Steubenville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
This was excellent! nice flavor, and was nice and crisp. worth making again, but like some other reviews, and going to put anise oil in it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Putting pizzelles into an airtight container will cause them to soften. Instead, after cooling, try wrapping them in aluminum foil in stacks of 8 or store them in a cookie tin. Hope this works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
wonderful recipe. I followed the recipe exactly as written and they were crisp, light and just plain perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kathy.marchand

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I love this recipe, I make it every year for Christmas. Instead of just anise extract, I use 1 tsp of anise extract and 3 drams of Anise oil because my family likes more of the anise flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsgrove, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Pemberton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I got this exact recipe from my sister-in-law a number of years ago and it's a must have each Christmas. I suppose it depends on the iron but I think 90 seconds is way too long. I generally don't need over 30 - 45 seconds with mine. For a change of pace, you can substitute vanilla for the anise, or even some lemon extract. I find that with the lemon extract, I need more than the 2 Tbsp., about 3 Tbsp. actually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
tasted amazing!!! but it makes about 70 cookies!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I NEED HELP!! The cookies do not harden for me, they stay soft. Any advice on what I may be doing wrong??? I left them cool on racks and then placed them into tightly covered containers, why aren't they getting hard for me?? Someone please help me with this, have ruined so many batches of these already!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States