Pizzelles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Take a lot of time standing at the ole Pizelle maker, but these turn out great...just the right amount of Anise!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TONIBAG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Didn't have any anise extract. So I used half vanilla, half almond, and a small dash of lemon extracts. They crisped up beautifully and mighty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Used my pizzelle maker, 3-4 setting until green light was off, approx 1 minute. Store in foil to keep crisp. 1/2 recipe plus 1 T vanilla and 1/2 t almond, very easy and good.1/2 recipe made 2 dozen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
His grandmother making pizzelles at the holidays is one of the favorite memories of my Italian-born husband. So when I made these, and just the smell brought a tear to his eye, I knew they were authentic. And they do taste great. I did need to thin the batter with a little water though. Also, I used butter instead of margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPinky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I used two bottles plus another teaspoon or so of anise flavoring, but we like them with a lot of flavor. This recipe is just like my dad makes. For Christmas, he puts red and green food coloring in the batter and makes them in those different colors - really pretty. These also freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacquita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
This is the exact recipe my familt uses when we make pizzelles. We like soft pizzelles and this recipe allows them to stay softer rather than crunchy. My grandmother was the only one who knew how to keep them crunchy because that is her preference. I use melted butter, and a full bottle of anise along with a tsp of anise oil. It sounds like too much, but after they are cooked you will notice how much more flavor they have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mfmenchi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
This recipe turned out perfect. Just like I was looking for. For those of you whose pizzelles were not crisp, make sure you are using butter and not margarine. Some margarines have alot of water added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Excellent! This is the old recipe my family uses also. However, I add vanilla extract to mine. It is also easy to replace the anise with any flavor extract for a variety of tastes. (I use approx the same amount for any extract.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
The batter is delicious, but I can't get them to crisp up. Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong? I'm following the recipe, and cooking them to a golden brown, but they stay soft. Help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
215 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: East Norriton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Just by looking at it, it seems really good. I don't have a pizzelle iron though. Would a waffle maker do?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States