Pizzelles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
wonderful! I had no trouble making these crispy, but I live in a very dry climate. Cook until very slightly light golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Very good and just like a remembered growing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armywife892

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kent, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I make these like crazy over the holidays and people can't get enough of them. This recipe is perfect for producing thin, crisp pizzelles. I don't like anise, so I make some using vanilla extract instead of anise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEENTEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
good recipe. did one batch with using vanilla instead of anise! double yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krysti N

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
For those of you looking for crisper pizzelles... Make sure you squeeze your iron all the way and hold shut while they are cooking. My Grandma likes hers thick and barely even shuts her iron but I like mine crisp so we use two irons while making pizelles, this also makes baking go faster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bellville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Great recipe! I used butter instead of margarine, and added anise seeds (2 and 1/2 teaspoons)to the batter. They turned out great, light and crispy. I noticed others had trouble with them crisping up, and that could be caused by using margarine that has a high percentage of water in it. I have never tried it with margarine, as I am very happy using butter instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Ringgold, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
Take a lot of time standing at the ole Pizelle maker, but these turn out great...just the right amount of Anise!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TONIBAG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Didn't have any anise extract. So I used half vanilla, half almond, and a small dash of lemon extracts. They crisped up beautifully and mighty tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Used my pizzelle maker, 3-4 setting until green light was off, approx 1 minute. Store in foil to keep crisp. 1/2 recipe plus 1 T vanilla and 1/2 t almond, very easy and good.1/2 recipe made 2 dozen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
His grandmother making pizzelles at the holidays is one of the favorite memories of my Italian-born husband. So when I made these, and just the smell brought a tear to his eye, I knew they were authentic. And they do taste great. I did need to thin the batter with a little water though. Also, I used butter instead of margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsPinky

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States