Pizzelles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
My only complaint is that this recipe made way more cookies than I had anticipated. 18 servings? Only if a serving is five cookies each. Otherwise, this recipe rocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Great recipe and lovely flavor. For those who's cookie wont crisp you need to give the cookie more time. I think pizzelles are better eaten the next day. I place a piece of wax paper between each cookie after they ARE COMPLETELY COOL and then loosely wrap a stack of the cookies in one large piece of wax paper. Meaning they are not totally air tight. The next day the cookies have crisped up just right. Delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Definitely not enough Anise flavoring... I ended up adding the folowing : 2 additl tblspns of Anise 1 tblspn of Vanilla Extract 1 teaspon of Cinnammon and I still feel like something was missing. I did sift the flour with the baking powder and they got nice and crispy. I'll probably use this recipe again in the future, but I'm open to suggestions on additional ingredients to try. It was definitely missing something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I thought this was the closest to the recipe I was looking for,which uses a dozen eggs and oil instead of margarine or butter.I use oil of anise which gives the cookie a stronger anise flavor because the alcohol doesn't burn out as it does with the flavoring.A trick to keeping them crisp is to try not to make them on a rainy or humid day and like my grandmother did,she stored them in a brown paper bag or in a card board box never stored or wrapped air tight.Oh!! Thanks for the great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I use a little extra anise and whole grain flour and they are great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
First time I ever made these and they came out perfect! I used salted butter as per other reviews and they hardened quite nicely. I am so pleased. Recipe yielded 5 dozen pizzelles and a small bag full of edges for on top of the kids ice cream (mine too). Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Whoaa! My family uses this recipie too :) Alot of people seem to to be having trouble getting them to crisp up--- the best way is to leave them on racks over night and then wrap stacks of them in wax paper. you also need to make sure you are using an iron that is thin enough for them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelsey-ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gahanna, Ohio, USA
Photo by ladybuggs5224
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
These came out pizzelle perfection!! This was my first time to ever make them and I was suprised at how well they came out. I used butter pecan flavoring. They are crispy like they should be and all around yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
This is the pizzelle recipe we have been searching for!!!! We are a big Italian family and have grown up making pizzelle's since we were young. Sometimes they'd turn out great, other times they would come out soft (we like them crispy). This recipe is wonderful! I used melted butter and sifted the dry ingred. like others recommended. I used 1/4 c. total of almond & vanilla extracts, and an addt'l 1/4 c. Amaretto. They are fantastic! Thank you all for the great tips..I LOVE this website. The reviews make all the difference in helping to see what helps and what doesn't work. Enjoy!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IGetPaidToDrinkCoffee

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
this is a very good recipe, I make them into cones and use fill them with cream soooo good I made them for my wedding :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anoka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ramsey, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States