Pizzelles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
For those of you that can't crisp up the Pizelles. Been making them for 45 years and depending on the humidity, you have a problem. Too rectify, you can place on a cookie rack in a low temp oven 300 degrees and bake for a few minutes till they are crisp. Then pack in an airtight container. Also, I use butter that crisps up better than margerine. This recipe would taste better using one bottle of anise extract or 1/2 tsp. of anise oil. The extract is not that strong when combined with the above ingredients, but that is a personal flavor choice. When warm, you can also roll them into a cone shape and fill with pastry creams. smokeygal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
LOVE it! I halfed the recipe so I could make some almond flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Warriors Mark, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Halved the recipe. Reduced the sugar to 2/3 cups and added a pinch of salt. Pizzelles came out perfect and they crisped up very well. Will definitely be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I have made numerous pizzelles always searching for the perfect taste...I finally found them. Excellent and most authentic pizzelle yet. However, I made a couple of changes...I use butter, I add almond extract and one teaspoon graded orange peel. They are light and crispy...Mine never turn out soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
1. These cookies are outstanding. This will be my permanent recipe. Adjustments: used real unsalted butter instead of margarine and used vanilla in place of anise (personal taste). 2. I'm not sure about the people who had 'soft' cookies- mine crisped up beautifully. My only idea is to make sure that you use an electic mixer for the eggs and sugar and make sure to beat long enough (when I thought they were 'fluffy' I kept going for a couple of more minutes). I usually skip sifting the flour, but I didn't for this recipe. Definitely sift. 3. The trickiest part for me is always figuring out the right amount of batter and the right cooking time. For my iron, a full tablespoon (measuring spoon) of batter and 1 min 12 seconds made beautiful cookies. 4. There was a little 'overhang' around the edges of some of the cookies- use kitchen shears to cut off any extra to make perfectly round pizzelles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
These were very light, crisp, and flavorful. I have a few tips that really helped make my pizzelles a big hit. 1) SIFT flour before you measure it out. 2) Mix eggs and sugar until very light and fluffy. 3) I added 1 1/2 tsp Anise seeds in addition to the stated anise extract. 4) Use butter. They come off the iron soft but as they cool on the rack they crisp up nice. I will definitely make these again. So easy and so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missz174

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Not much to report on these guys - followed the recipe exactly & doubled it. The cookies turned out great & exactly how I remember making them as kids. Nice & light, with good flavor. Thank you for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
For those having trouble for them crisping, I always use 4 cups of flour, and instead of margarine, 1 cup vegetable oil. I've never had a problem with them not being crisp and delicate. Also, if you HATE anise like me, 1 tsp of vanilla, and 1/2 tsp. lemon extract will do nicely in its stead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aubrey Iacobelli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weston, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This is a great recipe with one exception, YOU MUST USE REAL BUTTER if you want your cookies to crisp. If you are looking for a fluffier softer cookie margarine is fine but then you will not be able to shape them in to cones, bowls or tubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I made 1/2 recipe only. I just made this recipe with orange emulsion and they came out delicious. I used real butter. Got 32 pizzelles. They came out soft, but then they crisped perfectly after placed on cookie rack. ( When they cooled.) Thank you for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States