Pizzelles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Followed recipe to a T & they turned out really nice. I used my medium Pampered Chef scoop & I placed dough slightly above center. I cooked mine for 1 minute 15 seconds. They were turning out too dark if I kept them in until there was no more steam. The texture is crispy, but I live in Western Colorado where the climate is desert so no problems with humidity softening up the cookies. I am going to make another batch with almond extract. I got 44 cookies using the medium scoop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Junction, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
My Mom's favorite recipe. Came with her "Pizzelle Chef" iron. She would cut the BAKING POWDER IN HALF to make the pizzelle wafer thin and crunchy. Everyone would rave about her pizzelles because of the thinness!! She would also add a drop more flavoring. I always think of her while making these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
My pizzelles came out perfect, and I did not sift the flour. Excellent !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
This is a classic recipe. I would definitely use real butter instead of margarine, but otherwise follow the recipe and you can't go wrong. I'm not sure why people are having trouble getting them to crisp up. Mine are fully crisp about 1 minute after removing them from the Pizelle oven. I just cut the recipe in half when I want a smaller batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Perfect. Used unsalted butter rather then margarine and they were crispy and just perfect! My go to recipe from here on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This is the recipe that came with my mother's pizzelle iron. When she gave it to me, she said "You must use margarine! Butter will make them burn.". Well, I don't generally use margarine to cook with so I use 1/2 butter 1/2 maragine usually and sometimes all butter. Mine always turn out nice and thin and crisp. My Mom and my Aunt asked me "How do you get them so light and crisp!?" I said, "I use butter!" The looks on their faces was too funny! I cool mine on a cookie rack and only stack when they are completely cool. I always make sure my baking powder is fresh and add 1 TBSP of anise seeds along with the extract. The flavor gets stronger as they are stored. We have always stored them in cookie tins with waxed paper on the top and bottom. They last for a very long time like that. My grandmother and mother made hundreds of these for our big Italian family each year for the holidays. Now it's my turn! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
I used real butter instead of margarine, and 2 tsp of vanilla in place of anise. They crisped up really well, and were a very nice, light flavorful cookie. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYWR
Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I work at a private community hall as the manager and I made these with vanilla instead of anise and asked a hall full of people to try one and give me any feedback it was all positive no negative comments at all thanks for the recipe tastes just like my childhood at my italian grandmothers house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Martin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
For those of you that can't crisp up the Pizelles. Been making them for 45 years and depending on the humidity, you have a problem. Too rectify, you can place on a cookie rack in a low temp oven 300 degrees and bake for a few minutes till they are crisp. Then pack in an airtight container. Also, I use butter that crisps up better than margerine. This recipe would taste better using one bottle of anise extract or 1/2 tsp. of anise oil. The extract is not that strong when combined with the above ingredients, but that is a personal flavor choice. When warm, you can also roll them into a cone shape and fill with pastry creams. smokeygal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States