Pizzelles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I used vanilla instead of anise. Yield depends on the diameter and thickness of your pizzeles. I found if I used the batter just after mixing it together (more room temp) I got thinner pizzelles and if I refrigerated the dough first, they were slightly thicker. Love this, tastes like Christmas at my Grandma Benedetti's house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
If your cookies will not harden or crisp up, try storing the cookies in just a brown paper bag. My family makes these cookies every year and always store them in a paper bag and they always crisp up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
if you like a crisp cookie, reduce your baking powder (I don't use any) . Great recipe otherwise...thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
Same as my family recipe... I like to flavor mine with single malt scotch and ground walnuts... If you dip them in the powdered sugar before they are cool, they can get soggy.. Also some margarine works better (name-brand) than others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph LoGiurato

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe. Turned out very well for me. Some reviewers remarked that they could not get their cookies to crisp up.... one possibility is that they did not bake them long enough in their pizzelle maker. It seems I always have to relearn just how long to cook them. Experiment with varying amounts of time and you will probably find success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nrgizrbune41
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
This is almost like my family's recipe, except I used vegetable shortening melted. It gives a more crispy "cookie' than butter. I gave this recipe 4 stars because it had too much baking powder. I made 1/2 batch with 2 tsp. baking powder. I had trouble keeping the cookie thin & crispy. 2nd batch I used 1 tsp. Made for a nice crispy cookie.This is photo with 1/2 the amount of baking powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nrgizrbune41

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Western, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Absolutely love this recipe! The pizzelli come out nice and crisp. Only substitution I made was to replace anise with vanilla extract. I also sifted the flour. I use two different types of pizzelli irons and to make sure the pizzelles come out thin and crispy, I apply the batter then shut and hold the iron closed for 10 seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krykket

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I just made these for the first time. They were perfect! I wanted two different flavors so here is what I did. I waited until the end of completely making the batter before adding the flavor (anise). I split the dough in half. I added 1 tbls of anise extract AND anise seed to one batch and to the other batch I added 1 tbls of almond extract and you know those honey coated almonds that come in a little bag near the bagged salad in produce section of the supermarket? I took about 1/4 of a cup and ground them down a little smaller. I added those to the almond extract batter. Oh wow. I have two amazing pizzelle batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This is the exact recipe I have used for 40 years. My mom let my sisters and me make these at Christmas time. We always doubled it, everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE-0-TOOLE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Excellent recipe. I made two batches substituting vanilla extract for the anise in one and lemon extract for anise in the other. As other reviewers suggested, I sifted my dry ingredients. I shaped some of the warm pizzelles around a small wood cylinder to freeze and pipe with filling for future use and I shaped a few others around a small bowl to be used as dessert cups for later use. I cooled these all on a wire rack and they were perfectly crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Sweet and Salty Nestlé Toll House(R) Cookies

Satisfy your cravings for salty and sweet in one quick-and-easy cookie!

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States