Pizzelles I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
The definitive pizzelle. I have a hand iron so I cannot speak for those with electric ones, but these are the best I have made in 30 years of italian baking. An option for "purists"; oil of anise can be substituted for anise flavoring...itlends a marvelous flavor but watch out because you only need about half as much [taste and add carefully, if you like instead of anise flavoring]. thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALASKABABA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Great recipe, just huge. And I think I need a nicer pizzelle iron after this...mine just doesn't imprint as nicely as the ones in the picture! Make sure you have enough anise extract - 1 oz. is only 2 1/2 Tbsp., so you need two small bottles of it if you make the entire recipe. Another thing - if you have a small pizzelle maker like mine, cut the recipe in half. I ended up tossing some of my batter, because I just would never eat that many. I probably made about 80 or 100, and could have made 50 more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This recipe is excellent. My first pizelles came out near perfect! I say "near" because the difficulty for me came in mastering the use of my new pizelle maker. Pizelles are delicious right off the maker. I would only suggest using some anise seed in addition to the extract as to my taste, the extract doesn't carry nearly the full flavor or the whole seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
I have been looking everywhere for this particular pizzelle recipe!!!!!THANK YOU SO MUCH It makes the BEST pizzells ever.Only thing I changed is to use anise oil{if you can find it}its usually sold in drugstores.It doesn't loose flavor as much as the extract but becareful you don't need near as much either! THANKS again for this recipe I was beging to think I would never find it,I could only remember the amount of eggs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Awesome recipe! Thank you Ed, I lost my recipe. I substituted vanilla for the anise. I find my younger children like it better. It's yummy either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Wolcott, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Absolutely perfect. My family couldn't get enough of them. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca Burch
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This recipe has become a family favorite in my household. I've been using it for a couple years, and have changed the recipe at times, but always come back to the original. I love these cookies! I hadn't had them since I was a kid until I found this recipe. This recipe makes a huge batch! I must have a smaller iron than Ed because I ended up with 100 cookies the size of CDs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Burch

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Forgive my ignorance I had never heard of them before moving to PA a few years ago and the only ones I have tasted, sorry I haven't made the recipe yet, were store bought ones and they were soft. I thought by looking at them they would be the texture of waffles cones or fortune cookies but they weren't. I like the Anise flavor I just didn't care for the soft texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
For whomever wanted to know if these pizzelles are supposed to be crisp or soft - they are supposed to be crisp but tender. I consider ice cream cones and fortune cookies crisp but hard, if you know what I mean. When you bite into a good pizzelle, they just crumble in your mouth and melt into sweet, tasty goodness. This recipe is great and is the exact recipe that came with my mom's pizzelle iron 40 years ago. It sure has stood the test of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
My Opa makes these every Christmas. I can never get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kewanee, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States