Pizzelles I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2001
I have been looking everywhere for this particular pizzelle recipe!!!!!THANK YOU SO MUCH It makes the BEST pizzells ever.Only thing I changed is to use anise oil{if you can find it}its usually sold in drugstores.It doesn't loose flavor as much as the extract but becareful you don't need near as much either! THANKS again for this recipe I was beging to think I would never find it,I could only remember the amount of eggs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
The definitive pizzelle. I have a hand iron so I cannot speak for those with electric ones, but these are the best I have made in 30 years of italian baking. An option for "purists"; oil of anise can be substituted for anise flavoring...itlends a marvelous flavor but watch out because you only need about half as much [taste and add carefully, if you like instead of anise flavoring]. thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALASKABABA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Awesome recipe! Thank you Ed, I lost my recipe. I substituted vanilla for the anise. I find my younger children like it better. It's yummy either way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Wolcott, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Absolutely perfect. My family couldn't get enough of them. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca Burch
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This recipe has become a family favorite in my household. I've been using it for a couple years, and have changed the recipe at times, but always come back to the original. I love these cookies! I hadn't had them since I was a kid until I found this recipe. This recipe makes a huge batch! I must have a smaller iron than Ed because I ended up with 100 cookies the size of CDs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Burch

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Great recipe, just huge. And I think I need a nicer pizzelle iron after this...mine just doesn't imprint as nicely as the ones in the picture! Make sure you have enough anise extract - 1 oz. is only 2 1/2 Tbsp., so you need two small bottles of it if you make the entire recipe. Another thing - if you have a small pizzelle maker like mine, cut the recipe in half. I ended up tossing some of my batter, because I just would never eat that many. I probably made about 80 or 100, and could have made 50 more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
The batter was easy to make and was not too sweet. I would have liked more anise flavor. Next time I will add anise seeds to the batter. Ed thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
My mom has been looking for this recipe forever and she loves them. Great suggestion is to put a little bit of jelly on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ATLMICHELLE
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This is a cookie that you either love or hate (depending on how you feel about the licorice flavor). I grew up with these as both my mother and grandmother make them every holiday season and they are hands down my favorite cookie. Definitely use the anise oil though instead of the extract (use half the amt called for), it gives much more of a true flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Yum, for chocolate add 1/4 cup cocoa powder. Oh and the cookies freeze well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosinante

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ham Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States