Pizzelles I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I leave out the anise and use vanilla. Also put a shot each of rum and brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I have used this family recipe for years. While still hot, they can be shaped into a cone and later filled with ice cream or your favorite filling. Anise extract is not that expensive if you go to Walmarts. If you can find anise oil, that is even more potent and you use less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Melted the butter. Took the recipe down to one-forth of the servings and it still made a ton! They are delicious! (my first time making pizelles!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I have a wonderful tip...Anise is so very expensive, especially at holiday-time. I go to the local health food store and in the spice section, purchase anise seed for a fraction of the cost. I then grind the anise seed in a small coffee bean grinder and it gives the best anise flavor, even better than the expensive flavoring!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Excellent recipe. My whole family LOVE it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Yum, for chocolate add 1/4 cup cocoa powder. Oh and the cookies freeze well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosinante

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ham Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ATLMICHELLE
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This is a cookie that you either love or hate (depending on how you feel about the licorice flavor). I grew up with these as both my mother and grandmother make them every holiday season and they are hands down my favorite cookie. Definitely use the anise oil though instead of the extract (use half the amt called for), it gives much more of a true flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
My mom has been looking for this recipe forever and she loves them. Great suggestion is to put a little bit of jelly on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
The batter was easy to make and was not too sweet. I would have liked more anise flavor. Next time I will add anise seeds to the batter. Ed thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Great recipe, just huge. And I think I need a nicer pizzelle iron after this...mine just doesn't imprint as nicely as the ones in the picture! Make sure you have enough anise extract - 1 oz. is only 2 1/2 Tbsp., so you need two small bottles of it if you make the entire recipe. Another thing - if you have a small pizzelle maker like mine, cut the recipe in half. I ended up tossing some of my batter, because I just would never eat that many. I probably made about 80 or 100, and could have made 50 more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States