Pizzelles I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
For whomever wanted to know if these pizzelles are supposed to be crisp or soft - they are supposed to be crisp but tender. I consider ice cream cones and fortune cookies crisp but hard, if you know what I mean. When you bite into a good pizzelle, they just crumble in your mouth and melt into sweet, tasty goodness. This recipe is great and is the exact recipe that came with my mom's pizzelle iron 40 years ago. It sure has stood the test of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Forgive my ignorance I had never heard of them before moving to PA a few years ago and the only ones I have tasted, sorry I haven't made the recipe yet, were store bought ones and they were soft. I thought by looking at them they would be the texture of waffles cones or fortune cookies but they weren't. I like the Anise flavor I just didn't care for the soft texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I leave out the anise and use vanilla. Also put a shot each of rum and brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I have used this family recipe for years. While still hot, they can be shaped into a cone and later filled with ice cream or your favorite filling. Anise extract is not that expensive if you go to Walmarts. If you can find anise oil, that is even more potent and you use less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Melted the butter. Took the recipe down to one-forth of the servings and it still made a ton! They are delicious! (my first time making pizelles!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I have a wonderful tip...Anise is so very expensive, especially at holiday-time. I go to the local health food store and in the spice section, purchase anise seed for a fraction of the cost. I then grind the anise seed in a small coffee bean grinder and it gives the best anise flavor, even better than the expensive flavoring!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Excellent recipe. My whole family LOVE it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Yum, for chocolate add 1/4 cup cocoa powder. Oh and the cookies freeze well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Morrison

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ham Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ATLMICHELLE
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This is a cookie that you either love or hate (depending on how you feel about the licorice flavor). I grew up with these as both my mother and grandmother make them every holiday season and they are hands down my favorite cookie. Definitely use the anise oil though instead of the extract (use half the amt called for), it gives much more of a true flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ATLMICHELLE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Southington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
My mom has been looking for this recipe forever and she loves them. Great suggestion is to put a little bit of jelly on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Irish Soda Bread Cookies

Turn the flavors of soda bread into quick-and-easy cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States