Pizzelle-Italian Tradition Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
These were good. I added 2 Tbsp vanilla, and liked the addition of the lemon. I wish I could figure out how to make pizzelle's uniform in size, and look like the picture attached. The flavor of these is very nice. I will try anise next time I make them. UPDATE: I tried these again, but this time I added some milk. The milk thinned the dough out which helped them to spread, plus it made the cookies crisp and thin. Just add enough milk to make the dough soft, but not runny. I didn't measure the amount I added. Also, press the iron down hard for the first 10 seconds to help the dough spread out. My cookies took about 40 seconds in total to cook. I also added 2 tablespoons of vanilla, and the zest of 2 lemons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I had this recipe years ago when my kids were little. I made them thick though, like regular waffles. They are great for snacks. The family loved them. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Love them but want to make them ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Loved the addition of lemon zest and the subtraction of anise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Delicious! We cooked them about 20 seconds then rolled them while still hot... added a sweetened ricotta filling for a "canolli." Best snowed-in day ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
"Purists" who swear by anise when making a pizzelle don't know what they're missing when they refuse to accept other flavors. This recipe is awesome! I also made it with the zest of clementines (it's what I had on hand) and a little orange extract in the batter ... oh my god what a cookie ... Afterwards, I dusted the finished product with powdered sugar. Heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This recipe is for someone who wants an "Italian Like" cookie. If you want the real thing, omit the lemon zest and add 1 to 2 tsp. anise extract or 1 tsp. anise oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
My Italian family has been making these forever as well. The only difference is we add anise as well as vanilla (no lemon). My husband's Grandmother made them with Lemon, but the anise is much more flavorfull. They are my favoite cookie and my kids love them as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
This recipe was very good, however, I felt they definitely had an egg taste. I am not italian so I was not sure, so I added more vanilla 1/2 way through and they turned out perfect. I sprinkled poweder sugar on them and they were fantastic. I recommend this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by salina101902

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Instead of lemon zest and vanilla, I just used 2 tsp. grated lime rind. These are super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States