Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Thisni Caza
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
So good! I used a loaf of Italian bread for the crust, since I'm yeast-bread phobic and none of the ready-made crust options looked very appealing (and were expensive). So given that the recipe was for a 9" pizza, I doubled the ricotta mixture except for the oil. I also have no idea how to meaure a cup of asparagus!! To me, 'trimmed' means trim off the tough part of the stem, not chop. So I probably used way more asparagus. (I had 36 spears, most very small, about 75% of a bunch from the supermarket.) I also used a pizza blend of cheese for the white cheddar, plus a bit of feta on top of that. I know that sounds like a lot of mods, but I felt that Chef John was giving us permission, so that's okay!! Next time I would like to add some onion and mushroom. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I was looking for something different & yummy, and man, did I hit the jackpot! This pizza was phenomenal! All the ingredients were perfect together, and the husband, 14 & 6 year old ate it up. I also used Chef John's crust recipe, which was just perfect, even though I only let it rise for 2 hours. Other then the dough, I followed the recipe pretty much to the tee, though I will definitely have fun playing around with it next time. Cooking's no fun unless you can screw around with it a little!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten M

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This was delicious! That being said, I think I prefer it as an appetizer (on a super thin crust/flatbread) rather than as a meal as it is quite rich. I followed the recipe, though I did use dough I'd already made and frozen. I was concerned w/the high bake time, but it's spot on and will be my new pizza cooking method as the result is a perfectly crisp crust. I did not have fresh herbs, so I chose to use a pinch of dried Italian Seasoning. Great stuff, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This is one of the best pizzas I have ever had. I used regular pizza dough, very thin. What a great ideas and a great way to enjoy pizza that is not just your ordinary pizza!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This was an amazing pizza. I did use a super thin crispy crust which suited the rich sauce very well. I threw all the sauce ingredients into the mini chopper and wizzed it up which made it super simple. I used the white chedder in addition to some shredded swiss that I had leftover in the fridge. I wouldn't want this as the main course because it is rich but it was awesome as a side to lasagna. I just loved the flavor of the sauce and how easy it was to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Loved the ricotta mixture on this! I didn't use any of the herbs listed but did use chives and dill, had parsley on hand but forgot to use it. Used store bought personal size crust. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This is a family hit! I cheated a bit, used a thin crust in the tube pizza crust and always dust the pizza pan with cornmeal and a very thin coat of olive oil to prevent sticking. We like spicy, so I used a teaspoon or so of the red pepper flakes, along with Italian seasoning herbs. I did add mushrooms and onion, with the ham. My asparagus were thin, so no prep needed, as Chef John said. Love the 5 min on low rack, 5 min high. It was perfect-we are having it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamacitaTee

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This was very easy to put together, and very delicious for a change. I liked the ricotta and Olive oil and herb sauce, and the sweetness of the asparagus went well with the salty nutty cheese. Very very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Southgate, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
YUMMY- great inspiration recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States