Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This was delicious! That being said, I think I prefer it as an appetizer (on a super thin crust/flatbread) rather than as a meal as it is quite rich. I followed the recipe, though I did use dough I'd already made and frozen. I was concerned w/the high bake time, but it's spot on and will be my new pizza cooking method as the result is a perfectly crisp crust. I did not have fresh herbs, so I chose to use a pinch of dried Italian Seasoning. Great stuff, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
I was looking for something different & yummy, and man, did I hit the jackpot! This pizza was phenomenal! All the ingredients were perfect together, and the husband, 14 & 6 year old ate it up. I also used Chef John's crust recipe, which was just perfect, even though I only let it rise for 2 hours. Other then the dough, I followed the recipe pretty much to the tee, though I will definitely have fun playing around with it next time. Cooking's no fun unless you can screw around with it a little!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten M

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
YUMMY- great inspiration recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Thisni Caza
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
So good! I used a loaf of Italian bread for the crust, since I'm yeast-bread phobic and none of the ready-made crust options looked very appealing (and were expensive). So given that the recipe was for a 9" pizza, I doubled the ricotta mixture except for the oil. I also have no idea how to meaure a cup of asparagus!! To me, 'trimmed' means trim off the tough part of the stem, not chop. So I probably used way more asparagus. (I had 36 spears, most very small, about 75% of a bunch from the supermarket.) I also used a pizza blend of cheese for the white cheddar, plus a bit of feta on top of that. I know that sounds like a lot of mods, but I felt that Chef John was giving us permission, so that's okay!! Next time I would like to add some onion and mushroom. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
This was a nice way to use asparagus, but it was very rich! Also, I used one clove of garlic, instead of the two recommended, but the finished pizza had a sharp garlic bite. Roasted garlic might be a better way to go for a mellower garlic effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scott M.
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
Delicious. I like to use "Valentino's Pizza Crust" recipe on this site, which makes enough for my 12" pizza pan. Therefore I made 1.5x the toppings in this recipe. I did chop my asparagus into 1" pieces which makes the pizza easier to eat in my opinion. Next time I think I'll add more ham. I pulled my pizza out after 9 minutes since the crust was browning. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elburn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
This was delicious. I used a prepared crust and followed the recipe exactly. (Well maybe added more ham & asparagus because my crust was a 12 inch.) the heat time was perfect. I was thinking I may add fresh slice mushrooms next time. My husband devoured it, too. We had no leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Naches, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
This is a family hit! I cheated a bit, used a thin crust in the tube pizza crust and always dust the pizza pan with cornmeal and a very thin coat of olive oil to prevent sticking. We like spicy, so I used a teaspoon or so of the red pepper flakes, along with Italian seasoning herbs. I did add mushrooms and onion, with the ham. My asparagus were thin, so no prep needed, as Chef John said. Love the 5 min on low rack, 5 min high. It was perfect-we are having it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamacitaTee

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This was an amazing pizza. I did use a super thin crispy crust which suited the rich sauce very well. I threw all the sauce ingredients into the mini chopper and wizzed it up which made it super simple. I used the white chedder in addition to some shredded swiss that I had leftover in the fridge. I wouldn't want this as the main course because it is rich but it was awesome as a side to lasagna. I just loved the flavor of the sauce and how easy it was to throw together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
This was very easy to put together, and very delicious for a change. I liked the ricotta and Olive oil and herb sauce, and the sweetness of the asparagus went well with the salty nutty cheese. Very very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Southgate, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

Asparagus with Ham and Lemon

Make a quick and easy fresh asparagus side dish.

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States