Pizza Without the Red Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I made homemade pizza dough for the Super Bowl last Sunday and wanted to try a new recipe. I made a traditional one with mozarella and I made this one. Very good...even to my hubby who normally likes to play it safe. I didn't know what pesto was...found a jar of dried tomato and spices and ground it up. That was very intense flavor, to use sparingly. I also used a can of mixed flavored greens instead of spinach. VERY YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This very well may have been the best pizza i have ever had. Made exactly as written using Jay's Signature Pizza Crust from this site and it was fantastic. Oh, i used roma tomatoes with seeds removed to avoid liquid buildup. I would recommend using a pizza stone if possible. The pizza cooks so much better. Thank you for this delicious pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
i'm giving this 4 stars because i believe had i done it right it would've been excellent. i left out the pesto then followed directions. i would use more parm next time and use tomato basil feta as well. i may even put some mozzerella on there too. it just wasn't salty enough for me. i also don't recommend using fresh jalepenos as they are not as hot. they are good if you are looking for that super fresh taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
This was an interesting twist to the regular pizza we are used to. We liked it. I added some colored peppers and used shredded mozzarella cheese to the top. The crust is Jay's Signature Pizza Crust from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This was fabulous. I sauted the onions and pepper. I was a little leary about the jalepeno pepper, but it gave it a great kick. Best pizza I've had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I only used half of everything to make half of my 16 in pizza. THIS WAS VERY DELICIOUS!!! Next time I would like to omit the jalapeno to suit my 4 year old and 11 month old. Also, I would like to try red and yellow onions and add some type of meat (probably bacon) for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This was excellent.I made some modifications though,since I couldn't find sun dried tomato pesto , I used regular pesto (1 tablespoon), sun dried tomatoes kept in oil ,I minced them and used two tablespoons of them.I added kalamata olives (minced),and cut the amount of garlic to 3 teaspoons.I used the whole wheat and honey pizza crust as one of thr reviewers suggested and the results were fabulous.Thanks aimee for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NAJATNASER

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Great recipe, only changed by adding kalamata olives, which was very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
I make this all the time sometimes I use a canned crust & sometimes boxed. I switch it up a lot depending on what we have on hand. One suggestion would be not too use too much extra feta, it can taste a little salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Completely drool-worthy... sooo good! I'd recommend not including the watery tomato seed part of the tomato. Also I use less garlic, but that's just my preference. Awesome every time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marbear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 210) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

How to Make Pizza Margherita

See how to make a classic pizza margherita.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States