Pizza Without the Red Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
This recipe was delicious! I didn't include the onions since my 5 year old doesn't like them, but she helped me make it from start to finish. The combination of flavors is excellent! The only small issue I had was that, because I used a regular tomato in addition to the fresh spinach, the pizza toppings were watery when I pulled it from the oven. This was remedied with a few paper towels. I think this would have been better had I used smaller, Roma tomatoes and if I had allowed the slices to sit for several minutes after being cut to let some of their juice drain. My husband & daughter loved it, as did I, and we will have it again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This pizza is to die for! I made a couple of changes: sauteed the onion first, used bagged spinach since that is what I had on hand, added sliced green olives and used fresh mozzarella (approx. 8oz) rather than feta. The "sauce" would be excellent as a dip for hot, crusty bread!! Thank you for this new and easy variation on the traditional pizza!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2001
My family has been enjoying homemade pizza every Saturday night for years. When I added this one to the tradition, even the 14 year old sceptic liked it! Now this pizza is a regular hit. My friend uses the sauce (the first 7 ingredients)on baked perogies and to make garlic bread. Delicious! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2006
I used shredded mozzarella instead of feta and a couple packages of thawed, frozen chopped spinach for the topping. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2004
excellent--I added mushrooms and grilled chicken to this and my family loved it--thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
Easy, healthy and tasty. What more could you want from a recipe. My husband couldn't stop eating. The jalapeno and garlic give it plenty of zip and the veggies really make it healthy. It's truly the best of both worlds. I cut the feta slightly and added 2 tablespoons of Parmesan on top because we love the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
This was really really good. I used fresh basil instead of dried and I think next time I'll grill the onions and add sliced black olives for more flavor but other than that it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cypress, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
I enjoyed this one. I'm not big on tomato sauce either so I added pesto sauce from Trader Joes as my base. They also have premade pizza dough in different flavors. I used the garlic dough. I'll be making this one again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
I think this is the best pizza that I have ever eaten. I made this using the Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough recipe. I was skeptical because I am a red sauce girl but this pizza was so flavorful, I did not miss the traditional red sauce at all. The sauce is very flavorful but doesn't overpower the other toppings. Its heavy on the garlic so be prepared for the resulting dragon breath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAHARA2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charlotte Amalie, Saint Thomas, U. S. Virgin Islands
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I often use the sauce, but replace the pesto but pasta sauce. I don't like too much tomato sauce on my pizzas, and the amount in this recipe is just perfect! I have tried all the recipe once, substituting pepperoncini for the jalapeno, and it was delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XVELVETX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States