Pizza Without the Red Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This was very good homemade vegetarian pizza. There are quite a few strong ingredients in this pizza and to be honest, I think some of the flavors got a bit lost. I used jarred sun dried tomatoes that I drained well before chopping. Also used the last of my fresh basil and oregano from the garden - - I liked the flavor of the fresh vs. the dried herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KOALAGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I didn't have any of the sun-dried tomatoe pesto but didn't need it. I mixed up the garlic sauce and spread it on crust. Used crumbled italian sausage, sauteed fresh mushrooms and garlic, and lots of italian blend cheese on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I used chopped sun-dried tomatoes instead of the pesto (to use them up), then added a bit more of the butter / olive oil / garlic mixture to get the spread consistency. I also added more Parmesan cheese (cause we like it). Also made it on a whole wheat crust. The grains from the crust mixed with the toppings were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
It was a good pizza. I was a little skeptical at first, but I made some changes and it turned out very good! I used: -an italian cheese blend (mozzarella, provolone, parmesean) instead of feta -italian spice blend (basil, oregano, marjoram, etc.) instead of 1 tsp of the called for spcies -grated italian cheese blend in the sauce mixture instead of just the grated parmesean -added red pepper flakes -left out the spinach and onions, used jalepenos, tomatoes, olives instead Next time, I will put in a little less Italian seasoning (I'm not a huge fan of seasoning) and add some salt (since I didn't use the feta cheese).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
Can I give this recipe a 10 star rating!? I adjusted this a bit based on what I didn't have in-- so I made this without the pesto, onion (used dry minced onion instead), and jalapeno but it was still TO DIE FOR and I'm sure those additional ingredients would have made it even better. I used about a third of the feta so it needed some mozzerlla... but all feta would have been superb! My hat is off to the chef who successfully discovered a pizza without a red (or white!) sauce. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairview, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
OMG! So very good. I put artichokes, sun dried tomatoes, salami and mushrooms as toppings. But the thing that made it was the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
This was so delicious- I loved it. I left off the onion and pepper. It was very easy too, I'll make it again. I used Jay's Pizza Crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Wonderful and quick. Used added some mushrooms and red peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMARTIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Very easy to make and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
AMAZING. Followed the recipe exactly. I don't even like onions but it worked great with the sweet onion. It was a smash hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States