Pizza Without the Red Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I LOVED this recipe!! I like pizza sauce, but this was a great change from the usual. I read a few of the suggestions and added some italian seasoning to the crust. I sauted the mushrooms, onions, and green peppers in olive oil with some garlic and oregano. I didn't use the tomatoes since I didn't have any. I added fresh chopped spinach then topped with cheese. YUMMY!!! Have made it again and will make it many times over!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
We had a taste for a veggie pizza & tried this. Wow. Absolutely wonderful! This "sauce" would work well for any 'gourmet' creation. We eliminated the jalapeno (I'm a sissy), and used mozzarella instead of feta (dh doesn't like feta). Sliced our tomatoes and onions as thin as possible, and chopped spinach directly on top with kitchen shears. Thanks Aimee! This one is good enough for company for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This was pretty good. A little heavy on the garlic for us though. Next time I will use a little more pesto and a little less of the garlic butter mixture. The Feta was fantastic on this. We used the "Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto" recipe from this site and loved it. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
I made this for my boyfriend and I, but I switched the jalapeno pepper for a bell pepper and made a little extra sauce. We both loved it. It was fantastic and filling, but tasted really fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cassie
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This pizza is AMAZING. I'm your typical pepperoni pizza kind of girl, but this opened up my world to a whole new kind of pizza! I've made it at least 5 times in the last month. It's super easy and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This recipe was awesome. I made it to a tee and it turned out yummy! I also tried another version with pineapple and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by splendid*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Made this with a homemade whole wheat crust--amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I made homemade pizza dough for the Super Bowl last Sunday and wanted to try a new recipe. I made a traditional one with mozarella and I made this one. Very good...even to my hubby who normally likes to play it safe. I didn't know what pesto was...found a jar of dried tomato and spices and ground it up. That was very intense flavor, to use sparingly. I also used a can of mixed flavored greens instead of spinach. VERY YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This very well may have been the best pizza i have ever had. Made exactly as written using Jay's Signature Pizza Crust from this site and it was fantastic. Oh, i used roma tomatoes with seeds removed to avoid liquid buildup. I would recommend using a pizza stone if possible. The pizza cooks so much better. Thank you for this delicious pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Dover, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
i'm giving this 4 stars because i believe had i done it right it would've been excellent. i left out the pesto then followed directions. i would use more parm next time and use tomato basil feta as well. i may even put some mozzerella on there too. it just wasn't salty enough for me. i also don't recommend using fresh jalepenos as they are not as hot. they are good if you are looking for that super fresh taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 217) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States