Pizza Soup II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
Just not that good. I'd rather have pizza.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lumberton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
I just finished eating a bowl of this pizza soup and the pot is calling me to eat more. However, I made several adjustments to it. I used ground pork instead of Italian sausage and I did not use pepperoni. I used chicken broth instead of water and added enough to make it more soup like. I added 4 big cloves of garlic, chopped and 2 tablespoons of freshly dried oregano and basil. Then topped it with crumpled, crispy bacon, parm cheese, black olives and purple onions. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I've made pizza soup before & I found this recipe to guide me. I gave it 4 stars because it needs extra seasoning not provided by the recipe. I changed the water for beef stock, added garlic SALT (which I find it needs), salt, black pepper, about a tbsp of the italian seasoning & extra oregano & basil ( 1tbsp of oregano & 1tsp. of basil). I assume the lack of salt is (I didn't have the sausage) because the sausage provides it. I had pepperoni cubes (1"x1" thick) frozen for making pizza pockets, but they ended up in the soup. The hubs prefers the peppers crunchy, so I'll add them before he goes to work so that they cook a bit when he reheats it there. Not bad, just a bit more is needed & you have it all in your spice rack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JGo555

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Just like pizza
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simmons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
My kids especially enjoyed making this soup and liked getting to choose and add the "PIZZA" ingredients. They told the neighbor kid about it who has now requested the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zac

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chugiak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Used hamburger meat instead of Italian sausage and cooked it in the slow cooker. The kids loved it. We'll be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
I have made this many times, as listed and with other indgreients. My family loves it. Great Idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Made some modifications to suit our family's tastes, added black olives, took out the mushrooms, added some green onions. Fried up the onions with the italian sausage along with about a clove of garlic. Had to add about another cup of water and a can of tomato paste due to the increased toppings, (i used a whole lb. of italian sausage). Threw it all in the crock pot for about 3 hours on high. My family was skepitcal when i said i was making pizza soup but once tasting it even the picky eaters loved it! Definately one for the recipe books.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rileysdad1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This was very good. We did modify it based on some reviews. We added garlic & peppers, and used 1/2 the pepperoni which we cut into quarters. Next time we want to get stick pepperoni to have bigger bits in the soup. Another addition we tried was adding another cup of water and a cup of orzo, we liked the texture the pasta added. The flavor was pretty good, it does need a boost, maybe more italian seasoning next time too. We'll have it again though - it was easy & quick as well, that always helps on busy work nights :) **UPDATE** I made this again using 1tbsp italian seasoning and cutting up a 5oz stick of pepperoni into chuncks and it made the world of difference - we all really loved it - it disappeared this time lol :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
It was a good start but was lacking something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amand21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Sausage and Egg Pizza

A spicy pizza topped with hot Italian sausage, eggs, and arugula.

Pizza with Ham, Asparagus, and Ricotta

See how to make a white pizza with ham, asparagus, and two cheeses.

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States