Pizza Sauce and Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I did not try the dough but we did however try the sauce and absolutely loved it. I have always stuck with my moms good old stand by recipe but my husband longed for something better. I finally gave in and we chose this sauce recipe and we will never use moms recipe again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tehachapi, California, USA
Living In: Fernley, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I really liked the sauce, but the crust was only okay, needed more salt or flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ita
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This was excellent! we really enjoyed making this from scatch and simply topped it with mozz, tomatoes and fresh basil. Even though it takes a while - it's much better than frozen pizza. In fact, there's no comparison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ita

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I didn't make the dough, just tried the sauce. Instead of a can of whole tomatoes I used a can of already crushed tomatoes with basil. I also only used one can of paste as it seemed a little too tomato-ey to me. Added a bit more garlic and a little salt and it seemed to have much more flavor. All in all a nice base sauce to play with to suit your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dexter, Missouri, USA
Living In: Morrisville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I made both the sauce and the dough. I LOVED the dough, but I wasn't crazy about the sauce. I love what the beer did for the crust. For the sauce, the recipe made a bit more than I needed for two large pizzas, and the flavor was bland but it still overpowered the flavor of the crust. It's a great consistency for sauce, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Didn't make the dough (used "Ricardo's Pizza Crust" recipe) as we didn't have any flat beer - tbh we never have any left over beer in! The sauce was simple and easy to make with the ingredients I have in. Used dried oregano and less tomato puree (about 2 tablespoons. Blended it to give it a smooth texture which we prefer and used the leftovers (as half the recipe made too much for one pizza) for the base of a pasta sauce the next day. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ButtercupBento

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I just used the sauce from this recipe. It turned out great!!! I don't like chunks in my sauce so I put the tomatoes in the blender before I started. I think I will play with the spices a little next time but it was great!!! Thanks for a great pizza sauce that I can make myself and don't have to worry about what is in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by intent

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
The recipe for the sauce is amazing. Best sauce I ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
The sauce recipe was GREAT!!! I did add some italian seasoning, about a tablespoon, and used more garlic. This is a perfect sauce for my pizzas. I will use it over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CODERRE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I made both recipes yesterday and baked my pizza today. The pizza sauce was out of this world! My friends had a piece and wanted to know if the recipe came from Italy. The dough was tasty and crunchy the way I liked it. I made two very large pizza using this recipe! thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corrine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States