Pizza Sauce and Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
I usesd just the sauce with homemade crust (Jay's Pizza Crust, also from this site), and it was THE BOMB!!!! I can not say enough how this absolutely made my pizza delicious rather than just good. The only thing I changed was I tasted the sauce as it was simmering, and I added about another teaspoon of dried parsley, another teaspoon of dried basil, and about a tablespoon just of Italian seasonings blend, otherwise the sauce was too tomato-y. It also made A LOT of sauce-next time I'll probably just use the 28oz can of tomato puree but all the extra seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2004
I used only the pizza sauce recipe, but it was wonderful!! Very easy, quick, and flavorful! Much better and just as easy as any sauce you can buy. This is now my new favorite and made my pizza taste delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Simple dough to make. I started it in the morning and put it in the fridge till dinner(not overnight). I used whole wheat flour and it turned out great. The first pizza dough puffed up really high while in the oven and I needed to cook it longer so I rolled out the second one much THINNER and it was perfect. Lightly crisp on the bottom. The herbs in the dough make this recipe stand out from all the rest. My family commented on how good it was all night. As for the sauce,I didn't have fresh herbs but even with dried herbs this one is a hit and I will definately make it again. I appriciate the fact that I can make extra and freeze it for a quick meal another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Threeicys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
The spices made this dough taste wonderful. Rather than making pizza out of this, I rolled the risen dough into nugget shapes then fried them. They tasted just like the Beer Nuggets I ate growing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
I gave this no stars b/c I only used the sauce recipe. It turned out just o.k., I think it needed something. I increased the seasonings, like others mentioned and added a teaspoon of sugar to help with the bitterness, but it still wasn't impressive. I will be trying the dough recipe next time though…thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
I used just the dough recipe because I already had home made pasta sauce left over from a previous dinner. This dough is awesome. My family adored it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
I followed the recipe using all purpose flour and everyone in my family loved this crust! My 6 and 4 years olds had fun helping make it, and loved to eat it too! The texture and flavor were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
Awesome! This pizza was a hit with the entire family. It's a lot of work, but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Quick and Easy Pizza Crust

Homemade pizza in less than 30 minutes? This video shows you how.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States