Pizza Sauce and Dough Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Ita
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This was excellent! we really enjoyed making this from scatch and simply topped it with mozz, tomatoes and fresh basil. Even though it takes a while - it's much better than frozen pizza. In fact, there's no comparison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ita

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belfast, County Antrim, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I didn't make the dough, just tried the sauce. Instead of a can of whole tomatoes I used a can of already crushed tomatoes with basil. I also only used one can of paste as it seemed a little too tomato-ey to me. Added a bit more garlic and a little salt and it seemed to have much more flavor. All in all a nice base sauce to play with to suit your tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dexter, Missouri, USA
Living In: Morrisville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I made both the sauce and the dough. I LOVED the dough, but I wasn't crazy about the sauce. I love what the beer did for the crust. For the sauce, the recipe made a bit more than I needed for two large pizzas, and the flavor was bland but it still overpowered the flavor of the crust. It's a great consistency for sauce, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
Didn't make the dough (used "Ricardo's Pizza Crust" recipe) as we didn't have any flat beer - tbh we never have any left over beer in! The sauce was simple and easy to make with the ingredients I have in. Used dried oregano and less tomato puree (about 2 tablespoons. Blended it to give it a smooth texture which we prefer and used the leftovers (as half the recipe made too much for one pizza) for the base of a pasta sauce the next day. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ButtercupBento

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I just used the sauce from this recipe. It turned out great!!! I don't like chunks in my sauce so I put the tomatoes in the blender before I started. I think I will play with the spices a little next time but it was great!!! Thanks for a great pizza sauce that I can make myself and don't have to worry about what is in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by intent

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
The recipe for the sauce is amazing. Best sauce I ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
The sauce recipe was GREAT!!! I did add some italian seasoning, about a tablespoon, and used more garlic. This is a perfect sauce for my pizzas. I will use it over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CODERRE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I made both recipes yesterday and baked my pizza today. The pizza sauce was out of this world! My friends had a piece and wanted to know if the recipe came from Italy. The dough was tasty and crunchy the way I liked it. I made two very large pizza using this recipe! thank you so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corrine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2007
I made the dough recipe the other night for a group of co-workers. Because I wanted something that cut down on my time in the kitchen, I used this dough recipe. This recipe is absolutely wonderful and a good use for leftover flat beer. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
We really enjoy this sauce. It's our staple recipe for Sunday night pizza. I make a double batch and can it into pint jars. Each pint is just enough for one Boboli crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States