Pizza Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2003
I tried this in a bind (ran out of store bought) My husband and I loved it! I cut the recipe in half since I was making a small pizza, added fresh basil and eliminated the tomato paste (I ran out of that too!) I will be using in place of store bought going forward. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
I didn't get a chance to try this, but my son really likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2004
This is pretty good recipe; needing only a few ingredients. I didn't use it for pizza this time, but will try it some day. I used it for the Pizza Casserole recipe here. I cut this recipe in half for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
I loved this, it was easy to make and my husband thought the taste was excellent. I changed the serving size to 16 since there is only two of us and froze what was left to use another time. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETYBIRD09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
I always feel better when preparing a sauce that has actually been cooked, rather than just "steeped", because I never think that the chopped garlic, or onion, or whatever is germ free enough when only steeped. This is an EXCELLENT recipe to tweak for your own tastes. I cut the oil to 1-1/2 Tbs., onion to 1/2 cup, and the oregano to 1-1/2 Tbs. This way I could add other spices to my liking, such as basil, marjoram, cayenne, dry red pepper flakes, sugar, etc. It made the 4 cups, enough for four 12" pizzas. I froze 3 portions for later use. Don't be shy--EXPERIMENT!!! Mine had the basics of this recipe but it turned out SO differently that I cannot really review it as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
This is a very good sauce, but I did add fennel seed and simmered it for about an hour and a half. This will be the sauce I use from now on. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
I pretty much followed the suggestions of the last reviewer, Liza, and got a wonderful pizza!! I used "Jays Pizza Crust" from this webstite. My husband said it tasted like it came from our favorite "non chain" pizza, that we spend nearly 20 dollars on. Made at home,with many toppings for around 5 dollars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Excellent taste ... I cut down the onion a little. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2006
Very good and easy sauce. I'm always looking for easy because I work full time and just don't have a lot of dinner time prep time available. Thank you for this recipe. My family loved the pizza
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I thought this was a very good sauce recipe. I used Jay's Pizza Crust recipe from this site. Excellent combination!! My family agreed (yeah!!!). This will be the sauce and dough recipe I use from now on. I did cut the recipe in half and could have had enough for 3 scimpy on the sauce pizzas. I almost used the amount I had on 2 and my husband complained it was a little too saucy for him. Please note my family does not like a lot of sauce! If you do, you should probably disregard how much I think this recipe makes. Thank you so much Sara for a wonderful sauce recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Twinsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States