Pizza Sauce II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
For making 1 pizza- I recommend a 6oz paste and an 8oz sauce with a couple of tablespoons of olive oil. Why make more when you can make fresh so quickly. I also recommend using all dried herbs instead of fresh onion etc. It will blend better in the sauce. Also a tiny bit (1/2 teasp) vinegar will give it tang, and a little white sugar. I think the other spices you should taste for preference as you go along!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2003
I prefer chunky pizza sauce, but my husband likes his smooth so I decided to make this recipe. It was really good. Has lots of flavor. I added a little pizza seasoning and some red pepper flakes to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
This was a good start, but I think next time I'd use about half of the olive oil. It just seemed to be so overpowering and a little bit too oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
I pretty much followed the suggestions of the last reviewer, Liza, and got a wonderful pizza!! I used "Jays Pizza Crust" from this webstite. My husband said it tasted like it came from our favorite "non chain" pizza, that we spend nearly 20 dollars on. Made at home,with many toppings for around 5 dollars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lake Waynoka, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2003
I tried this in a bind (ran out of store bought) My husband and I loved it! I cut the recipe in half since I was making a small pizza, added fresh basil and eliminated the tomato paste (I ran out of that too!) I will be using in place of store bought going forward. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
The onions made it too strong of a sauce. It took away from the flavor of the toppings. I like onions but everyone I made the pizza for was against them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Very good pizza sauce! Cut the recipe in half, still used 2 cloves of garlic and added a bit of sugar. Enjoyed, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
It didn't come out very well, it tasted like "fake" spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Overly sweet and just not flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
Wonderful! I used 1 T of Italian Seasoning and 1 T of Oregano. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States