Pizza Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I cheated a little and used canned diced tomatoes instead of fresh (needed pizza sauce in a pinch and didn't have many ingredients). This is AWESOME with the canned tomatoes, and I imagine it's even better with fresh - I will be using this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEHUNGRY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
VERY TASTY!...but I accidently put in the wrong herb! I didn't know it until hubby said how GREAT the sauce tasted, and not to buy jarred sauce anymore. Told him I went and picked the basil out of *his* garden. I told him where I got the herb and he said I used MINT instead of BASIL!!! Guess it was a great mistake flavor-wise for my family. (See the mint in the photo) However, I will make this again with the basil to see if it truly is a 5* recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
This is my favorite pizza sauce recipe to use with Jay's Signature Crust. I swear, I think the pizza was better than anything you get delivered or from a specialty pizzeria! YUM! You might not like how "runny" the sauce is - if that is a problem, add a little tomato paste after blending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Royalton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Edwards, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I used 6 whole Roma tomatoes and added a teaspoon of red pepper flakes- the whole tomatoes and the red pepper added what the original recipe lacked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chqsummerbaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Wilson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
my friends and i loved the fresh taste of this sauce when we made homemade pizza! i find a lot of tomato sauces are too sweet for my tastes, so i omitted the sugar and increased the amount of pepper to taste (i like a lot of pepper). it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
This was simply delicious. It was so easy to make and turned out extremely flavorful and colorful as well. Use big, ripe tomatoes for the best results. Overall, I highly recommend this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
What a great, fresh sauce! My man dipped his finger in and said it was amazing and that I should make it this way all the time now. And it was so easy :) I subbed dry basil for fresh but used a little more fresh parsley; this will be a great recipe to play around with to create different flavors! Thanks for a great recipe-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I loved this sauce and so did my kids, who are tough to please. I added a tablespoon of tomato paste and started off by sauteing the paste, olive oil, and all the spices (minus the fresh parsley) for just a minute and then added the tomatoes. I then let it simmer together for a few minutes and added the chopped parsley last. I used what I had in the pantry: canned tomatoes (1 can), dried basil (about a tsp.), and added a little extra sugar (about 1 tsp. total) and used an immersion blender to mix it all up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYSPRITE
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
We love this sauce. Fresh-tasting and flavorful. Plus, easy to make. Extra freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
This is not what I was looking for, very good, just not the traditional tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States