Pizza Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This is the first pizza sauce i ever tried with fresh tomatoes. I used Roma tomatoes and I did not have fresh spices so I used jars. I really like the consistency of this after I put it in the processor. The only thing I would change was the Cinnamon. I did not like the flavor of it in the sauce. Otherwise, it was great and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELLE73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I was a little worried about it at first. But as it sit a little while the flavor was great. everyone loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meriden, Connecticut, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
This was a really interesting sauce. I used tomato sauce, 8 oz. can. instead of the tomatoes. The cinnamon gave this an odd flavor at first bite, but it seemed to work after all. I wasn't sure whether I liked the cinnamon part of not, it was simply different. No one here commented on the sauce at all, so I suppose they liked it then. Easy to do and really fast too. No cooking time required. I had enough for 2 pizzas and still used only half the sauce. Thanks for sharing this I might make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
I love that this can be made totally from scratch, but it sort of had a huskier flavor thatn I expected. Maybe I added too much cinnamon, or that I used 1 TBS of Italian Seasoning instead of the tsp's of basil, parsley and oregano, since that's what I had on hand. I used my blender to make this, since I don't have a food proccesor. I liquified a little and then I pulsed it to break up the tomatoes, but still leave it chunky enough. To overcome the runniness that others talked about I sqeezed the juice out my tomatoes after cutting off the stems. It was an okay consistency once it baked, and I if my husband were homw when we ate it, I don't think he would have known the diiference. I will definately use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Taylor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This was a good recipe, but it was not for us. I will continue looking, but nice fresh flavors. Thanks for sharing:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
GOOD SAUCE. I didn't have fresh basil though and I used a can of No Salt added tomatoes instead, which I drained somewhat. Thanks , I'll be using this recipe again. I think it will also be nice on pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Great fresh taste you don't usually find in pizza sauce. I added a tablespoon of tomato paste after reading the reviews. It was definitely thick enough to spread. My husband thought it might be better even thicker, so next time I'll try 2 tablespoons. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
Too runny! I suggest adding cornstarch or really, tomato paste. This stuff mightve been alright for spaghetti sauce, but for pizza, it's not thick enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUMBLESTUMBLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
great! well done....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Great pizza sauce, dipping sauce. Super easy to make! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Roseville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Pizza Sauce

See Chef John’s secret formula for making pizza sauce.

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States