Pizza Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
What a great, fresh sauce! My man dipped his finger in and said it was amazing and that I should make it this way all the time now. And it was so easy :) I subbed dry basil for fresh but used a little more fresh parsley; this will be a great recipe to play around with to create different flavors! Thanks for a great recipe-
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
4.5 stars, sauted onion and green pepper first, added 12 oz can of tomato sauce, and a little sugar to other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
this was very good. i was looking for a recipe that called for fresh tomatoes. since i was using roma tomatoes i had to use 4 of them. i did add a 6oz can of tomato paste as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Very good and the kids loved it. I think using tomatoes is key getting a fresh taste to the sauce. I added an 8oz can of tomato paste to thicken and doubled the sugar. Store bought crust, shredded mozzarella mixed with grated parmesan and you're ready to bake in 15 minutes. In the oven at 425 degrees for 10-12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
We enjoyed this sauce. I made it as directed, but added a bit of tomato paste to thicken, and a little extra sugar. It made enough for one pizza. I enjoyed knowing that the sauce was homemade with tomatoes from my garden. It was fresh tasting and very quick in the food processor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
I thought the flavour of this sauce was really nice, but more of a pasta sauce than a pizza sauce. Might make again for pasta night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
VERY TASTY!...but I accidently put in the wrong herb! I didn't know it until hubby said how GREAT the sauce tasted, and not to buy jarred sauce anymore. Told him I went and picked the basil out of *his* garden. I told him where I got the herb and he said I used MINT instead of BASIL!!! Guess it was a great mistake flavor-wise for my family. (See the mint in the photo) However, I will make this again with the basil to see if it truly is a 5* recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This was wonderful! I used a can of diced tomatoes and dried herbs. It was still five stars! It was a wonderful dipping sauce, then I pureed the leftovers for spaghetti sauce. It was great, though I think a little better for pizza than spaghetti. My only advice is that it was a tad salty -- likely because of the canned rather than fresh tomatoes. If I don't have fresh on hand next time, I'll just salt to taste at the end. Thanks! This recipe was so easy and just what I've been looking for for years!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This turned out perfect in a pinch, I had all the pizza fixins and no sauce. The one reviewer said it was a bit runny, so I put it through a fine mesh strainer. LOVED IT! No more jared sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westland, Michigan, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
This is the first pizza sauce i ever tried with fresh tomatoes. I used Roma tomatoes and I did not have fresh spices so I used jars. I really like the consistency of this after I put it in the processor. The only thing I would change was the Cinnamon. I did not like the flavor of it in the sauce. Otherwise, it was great and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELLE73

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States