Pizza Sauce I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
love it! i was making a calzone and realized i didn't have any pizza sauce at home and looked and found this one - i had everything at home except for the ripe tomatoes so i just used a can of tomato sauce and left out the oil and it turned out perfectly other than i may have added a little too much cinnamon - be careful! lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This is a wonderful sauce! I love making my own pizza now. Even my hubby likes it and he can get picky about homemade food vs fast food. I don't think I like the fresh tomatoes in it though. I added brown sugar instead of white and it helped a bit. I might have to start using can though. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This was very good! I used petite diced tomatoes from a can in place of the fresh & threw it all in my slowcooker w/pre-cooked meatballs for subs(leaving the sauce chunky). I'll def be using this recipe again! Update:made again using fresh roma's & didn't care for it as a pizza sauce....tasted exactly like a local restaurant's salsa recipe, no kidding. Came out very watery & a funky pink color too. If I hadn't made this w/canned & liked it previously, I wouldn't bother with it again. This time around it would get 2 stars :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This was wonderful! I don't think we have every had better. I made no changes except I had no fresh, ripe tomatoes. I used some home canned, drained, and then proceeded as written. This has gone in my book of favorites. Used it with the breadmaker pizza dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Philip, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I had a bunch of home grown tomatoes and I was tired of blts. This recipe was just what I was looking for. It made the best pizza with Jay's pizza crust. Mabe next summer I will try canning some for later. I just didn't have the time this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B. Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
I tried this sauce the other day when I decided to make an at home pizza. The sauce turned out super tasty! I was alittle scared of the cinnamon, but I have to say that the cinnamon was a great addition, it gave the sauce an extra layer of flavor. I added alittle canned crushed tomatoes, only cause the tomatoes I had on hand weren't extra ripe. All in all great recipe...will recomend to a friend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holbrook, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Very good! I love all the fresh flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
This was the first time I made pizza sauce from actual tomatoes from the garden, and I thought it turned out really good. I like it not so chunky, so I ended upblending it fairly smooth and then cooking it briefly on the stove and added some corn starch to thicken it up. I am using it for Chicago style deep dish pizza, and think it will be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
Beware, this recipe calls for way too much salt! I think it would have been good with just a little salt. I ended up having to wipe off the sauce completely to make my pizza edible again. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
So fresh and a little sweet, loved the recipe. I just kind of threw the ingredients in a food processor and hoped for the best. Didn't even measure the ingredients, delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Pizza Sauce III

This no-cook pizza sauce tastes just like the best takeout.

Easy Pizza Sauce I

See how to make a simple no-cook pizza sauce.

Exquisite Pizza Sauce

Discover the secret to sensational pizza sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States